Monday, May 4, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: "The Dream Series (Books 1-5)" by Gladys Quintal


The Man of My Dreams (Book 1 in The Dream Series) [My rating: 4.5/5]
Ever since the death of her parents at the age of 17, Cassie has been dreaming about a dark haired man. He always comes to her in times of trouble to comfort her and help her through the toughest of days. But now after the devastating break up with her boyfriend, Cassie struggles with separating reality from her dreams. 
During a trip to her family beach house, her dream man becomes her lover and Cassie finds herself longing for this man to be in her life. But trying to find out the truth about him leaves her questioning her very existence and sanity. 
She is convinced her dream man is real and connected to a string of macabre murders over the last 20 years. Fearing for her life, Cassie prays she is right about him and that he can save her before it is too late. 
Note from author: WARNING : This book has an episode of sexual abuse. 

Be Careful What You Wish For (Book 2 in The Dream Series) [My rating: 5/5]
Alexi is a Vampire trying to live a human existence, he even has a human wife. The Vampire secret is paramount and cohabiting with humans - unless you intend on turning them, just isn't done. Can Alexi protect his beloved Cassandra from the would-be enforcers of this law or will he lose her forever? 

The Chosen One (Book 3 in The Dream Series) [My rating: 3.5/5]
Trying to exist undetected in a human world, with a human family is hard enough when you are a Vampire - but finding out your son is also the fabled Chosen One, makes things even more difficult. 
Will Alexi's love be enough to protect his precious child from the powers that be and prevent fate from dealing him yet another cruel blow? Or is he condemned to live out eternity alone... 

Succubus: An Erotic Companion (Book 4 in The Dream Series) [My rating: 4/5]
Succubus is book 4 in The Dream Series, written as a novella to fill in a few gaps – which you know by now is something I love to do. Rather than continuing the plot from book 3, it takes the reader back in time to just after Elizabeth “dies.” You’ll find it a bit more erotic than the first three books, so fair warning! 
What happened in the 400 years between Elizabeth dying in her castle tomb and the birth of The Chosen One? Take an erotic step back in time and learn more about what Elizabeth and Sebastian were up to as they prepared for that monumental event to take place. 
They certainly didn't get bored while they were waiting, that's for sure! 

A Match Made in Hell (Book 5 in The Dream Series) [My rating: 4/5]
Gabriel is beyond furious when he discovers Chloe was responsible for the untimely demise of his beloved brother. Will Moyra succeed in protecting her friend from the four hundred-year-old vampire intent on vengeance? 
The evil Elizabeth has betrayed them all. Her deceit could find Sebastian burning in the fires of hell for all eternity and force a wedge between Alexi and Cassandra forever.

I received this boxed set from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Reviewing an entire series is a bit difficult for me, because regardless of anything, I have no choice but to post a few spoilers, even if they're just in the book descriptions, as you can see above. I usually avoid reviewing a series all together for this very reason, but in a way it is also beneficial to you, reader, because that way you get to know if the whole thing is worth reading or not. There's nothing I hate more than starting a series that just goes downhill.
Having said that, this series does NOT go downhill. It does have its ups and downs, as all series do. Some characters lose their potency, and some get better over time. The plots also bounce a bit in terms of enjoyment, but they are consistent. You can't just read one or two books and then give up. Ms. Quintal succeeded in writing a series you just can't quit. You get this innate desire to keep going, to delve deeper into the lives of the characters, their pasts and their futures. And with book four, especially, you get to do that. While it was the shortest , it was my personal favorite. The only reason book two got a higher rating than book four was that book four was just a little too short, whereas book two had a little of everything fans of erotic paranormal and adventure books enjoy.
Book one does have sexual abuse in its contents, and I should warn you, reader, that it might be disturbing. It is realistic in a very frightening way, even though it was written in a fictional manner, with vampires instead of humans. If you can handle that, then you're good.
While it has its low moments, I highly recommend this series! It was a fun long weekend of reading for me, and I can assure you that you'll love it, too!

My overall rating: 4/5.

Purchase The Dream Series Boxed Set via Amazon.

No comments:

Post a Comment