Thursday, January 29, 2015

Stan Lee LiveJournal Video Contest!

LiveJournal (www.LiveJournal.com) launched a new video hosting feature and comicbook icon Stan Lee is the first person to utilize this new capability on the site, uploading a video about his contest – the worldwide search for Stan’s Biggest Fan – on his LiveJournal page:http://therealstanlee.livejournal.com/3008.html.  LiveJournal boasts over 70 million users so lots of people will be able to see the video!  Here's an article Fast Company wrote about the partnership: http://www.fastcompany.com/3041368/fast-feed/comics-legend-stan-lee-is-first-person-to-upload-video-to-livejournal

Just wanted to give you a heads up and ask if you can put up a quick post about this news and the fan contest before the contest ends January 30th….

 

The contest was announced by Stan on his LiveJournal page (http://therealstanlee.livejournal.com/) at his 4th annual Comikaze convention in Los Angeles over Halloween. Details about Stan’s Biggest Fan contest, as well as the link to submit entries, can be found here:http://therealstanlee.livejournal.com/856.html

 

Quote from LiveJournal CEO Katya Akudovich:

“LiveJournal is known as a place for people who want to share their views and thoughts without restriction. In a world where everyone else is trying to edit and shorten everything, we celebrate long-form content, which is why the site continues to be a popular place for many respected writers and creators such as Stan Lee,” said Katya Akudovich, LiveJournal CEO. “Today we’re thrilled to offer our community the opportunity to tell their stories through the power of video, which will undoubtedly bring more creative expression to LiveJournal. We're excited to see what our community will share!"

BOOK REVIEW: "Relative Strangers (Sophie Morgan Vampire Series Book 1)" by Helen Treharne

Sophie Morgan is 23 and has always done the right thing. She’s caused no stress for her family, worked hard through university, has taken a successful leap onto the career ladder and nurtured a reasonably healthy bank balance. It’s no small surprise then when, on a post relationship break-up, mini-break to Antwerp, she pursues a pair of thieves who steal her friend’s handbag. But this is only the start of her world being turned upside down. She quickly learns that vampires exist, her neighbors aren't what they seem and new boyfriends can be found in the strangest of situations.

Despite the description talking about vampires and boyfriends, don't expect a romantic tale with a sweet, sexy vampire. This is a modern vampire tale where the undead are exactly what they're supposed to be: killers.
The characters in Relative Strangers are very three-dimensional; you feel like they could be your neighbors or coworkers. Sophie is surprisingly average for a female lead, but her ordinariness is what makes her so endearing and makes this story believable. It could happen to you, too.
I know this is a shorter review than I usually post, but this book needs no more talking up! Reading this is like Deborah Moggach and Bram Stoker had a lovechild who decided to write a book. The scenes are vivid, the people are likable and the vampires are deadly. What more could you want?

4/5--a new vampire classic!



Purchase Relative Strangers via:

Amazon

Goodreads

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

BOOK SPOTLIGHT: "Black Ice: The 66 Degree Conspiracy" by Max Morgan

An international conspiracy to gain control over vast Arctic oil and gas resources touches close to home in Max Morgan’s riveting spy thriller Black.

As a senior intelligence officer with the Norwegian Police Security Service, Magnus Ose enjoys both personal and professional success. But his loving family and his career suddenly hang in the balance as he attempts to solve the mysterious deaths of several of his assets.

After discovering that confidential industry data has been stolen from oil and gas executive Finn Aspen, Magnus vows to identify the thief. But his efforts prove too late when Aspen is found shot in the head.

Shortly after, Norwegian diplomat Alf Evenson is found dead in an “accidental” apartment building fire—the second of Magnus’s assets to die in twenty-four hours.

Magnus’s investigation uncovers an elaborate network of spies and double agents that involves assets from North America, the Balkans, Western Europe, Russia, and the CIS.

It’s only as he gets closer to the truth that he realizes he might be too late—and that the web of lies he’s trying to penetrate might have already infiltrated his work…and even his own family.

Max Morgan is a former government official with insight into the workings of security intelligence issues. Having traveled and worked around the world, the author is currently employed as a private consultant. For the author’s outstanding work, Morgan was awarded the State Security and Intelligence Cross of Merit by a friendly country.

Purchase Black Ice: The 66 Degree Conspiracy on Amazon.

Monday, January 26, 2015

BLOG TOUR/BOOK REVIEW: "They Call Me Crazy" by Kelly Stone Gamble

Cass Adams is crazy, and everyone in Deacon, Kansas, knows it.  But when her good-for-nothing husband, Roland, goes missing, no one suspects that Cass buried him in their unfinished koi pond. Too bad he doesn’t stay there for long. Cass gets arrested on the banks of the Spring River for dumping his corpse after heavy rain partially unearths it.
The police chief wants a quick verdict—he’s running for sheriff and has no time for crazy talk. But like Roland’s corpse, secrets start to surface, and they bring more to light than anybody expected. Everyone in Cass’s life thinks they know her—her psychic grandmother, her promiscuous ex-best friend, her worm-farming brother-in-law, and maybe even her local ghost. But after years of separate silences, no one knows the whole truth. Except Roland. And he’s not talking.

Cassie has always been considered crazy by everyone in her small town, except for her grandmother, who is a seer, and Roland, the man she married. But Roland turned out not to be the man she thought he was. He drinks, he cheats, he forces her to take medication she doesn't really need.
Then she kills him.
Why? That's what we read to find out, through the eyes of Cass, her brother-in-law Clay, her ex-best friend Maryanne, the police chief Benny and a couple of others.
Aside from being about a woman with PTSD from her mother's suicide, this story is about the entire small Kansas town where it's set. Many characters come into play, almost all of them having dark secrets that tie in to the murder and Cass's fate. There's betrayals, war horrors, and paranormal elements mixed together to make a truly stunning piece of work.
Ms. Gamble's take weaves you in, like you're a part of the town abd the characters' fates. Her style of writing reminds me of an American Maeve Binchy: she creates a world that feels so real it's like you're a part of it.
Mental illness is a serious issue, and it's talked about thoroughly here. I especially like the fact that she states that PTSD isn't only from war: it's from any traumatic event. And, if left untreated, could completely destroy the afflicted.
There's also a very complicated love triangle set here, one that may very well turn out to be the root of the issue...or not.
Great storytelling, great plot, great characters. A definite must read!

5/5--wonderful!





Purchase They Call Me Crazy via:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00OSTANDS/&tag=redadeppubl-20

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/they-call-me-crazy-kelly-stone-gamble/1120724390?ean=2940150472624

Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id939743200

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/they-call-me-crazy  

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Kelly_Stone_Gamble_They_Call_Me_Crazy?id=vI1GBQAAQBAJ  

 

 

Author page on RAP: http://redadeptpublishing.com/kelly-stone-gamble/

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23357907-they-call-me-crazy

 

Reader Contest Code:

 

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0510ed5c74/"; rel="nofollow" data-raflid="0510ed5c74" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_6c48oqe3">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src="//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>;

Saturday, January 24, 2015

COVER REVEAL/BOOK SPOTLIGHT: "Death in the Family" by Helen Treharne

Death in the Family

Sophie Morgan Vampire Series Book 2

Helen Treharne

AVAILABLE 14TH FEBRUARY 2015

 

 

 

 

Book Description:

 

Things are on the up for Sophie Morgan.

She fended off vampires on a holiday to Antwerp, escaped them on her return in Coventry, stabbed her neighbor and is slowly rebuilding her life in her hometown of Bethel. Running the family property business may not be lucrative but she's happy. Since returning to Wales, she has only had to kill one vampire and thanks to the linoleum on her kitchen floor, even that was an easy clean up.

Then a mixed blessing arrives in the form of Mickey Kelly, the barman she had a brief flirtation with in Antwerp. After being missing for months, he arrives on her doorstep one rainy night. His brother has been murdered and vampires are coming for her. Little do the pair know that Sophie's estranged father is among their numbers. He's coming for his daughter… and he's not the only one.

Death in the Family is the long awaited sequel to Relative Strangers, with some familiar faces as well as some new ones.  Will Charles Ferrers, Sophie's former adversary, pursue her to South Wales and if so, to what end? Who is the mysterious man following her? Will Sophie and Mickey finally consummate their relationship and where will it lead them? Or will there be more than one new man in her life?

Find out how our practical, resilient, if not slightly insecure, Sophie deals with a whole new range of challenges in the second in the ‘Sophie Morgan vampire series'. This time she has bigger problems than vampires to deal with. This time she has family visiting.

Death in the Family is the second Sophie Morgan vampire book and will be available from Amazon from 14th February - the perfect valentine gift for the vampire slayer in your life!

 

To celebrate the forthcoming release of the book, the author is making the first book in the series, Relative Strangers free on Amazon on the following dates:

January 24th

January 26th

February 14th

February 28th

 

It is available for free NOW for Kindle Unlimited customers.

 

Buy Relative Strangers here Amazon

 

 

Relative Strangers:

A Modern Vampire Story

Sophie Morgan Vampire Series Book 1

Helen Treharne

PUBLISHED 23 AUGUST 2014

 

Book Description:

 

Meet Sophie Morgan… practical, Welsh, prone to occasional profanity, and seemingly a vampire magnet.  

 

Sophie Morgan is 23 and has always done the right thing. She's caused no stress for her family, worked hard through university, has taken a successful leap onto the career ladder and nurtured a reasonably healthy bank balance.  It's no small surprise then when, on a post relationship break-up, mini-break to Antwerp, she pursues a pair of thieves who steal her friend's handbag.  But this is only the start of her world being turned upside down.  Ripped from the streets into a dark alley she is violently attacked, barely alive when quirky Irish bar worker, Michael Kelly, stumbles across the scene.

 

The pair, shocked by their experience and uncertain whether they have killed her attacker in the brawl which follows, go into the night for answers.   They get more than they bargained for. Sophie quickly learns that vampires exist, her neighbours back home aren't what they seem and new boyfriends can be found in the strangest of situations.

 

Relative Strangers is the first in a new vampire series with a distinctly British flavour, but which will appeal to everyone.  Reviews call it "a vampire tale with bite", with "brilliant characters that draw you in" and a very fresh take on the genre. Read it now to find out what reviewers are raving about.

 

Available at Amazon  

 

 

RELATIVE STRANGERS BY HELEN TREHARNE - EXCERPTS

 

Excerpt 1

I tried to scream, but I couldn't, the arm was curled so tightly around my throat it was making it impossible to breathe. Breathing through your nose isn't easy when you're in a blind panic, but I tried anyway.
Cold fingers were clamped over my cheek and the side of my mouth. I tried to move my jaw to at least get a bite of my attacker, but it was impossible. Why didn't I go back with Mickey? Please Mickey, come back. Anyone, help me, please, please.
As we struggled in the confines of the doorway, I hoped that someone would come to my aid. Bars and nightclubs would be shutting their doors soon and that would surely mean someone would have to come by soon? All I had to do was stay alive long enough to be found. Surely Mickey would see me soon? But why would he? He would probably assume that I was totally unhinged by now and that I'd wandered off somewhere. My thoughts were racing as I struggled and my head was throbbing.
Then the searing pain ripped through my body. I couldn't tell what was happening, but I knew it wasn't good. First, there was an ice cold stabbing sensation in my neck. Then came the burning, a river of heat surging through my veins. I'd never felt anything like it before. Coherence was terminated the instant I felt my flesh tear open. Blood poured down my neck.
I wasn't sure what weapon he could be using, but I could feel his nose resting on the side of my chin, his mouth maneuvering itself around my neck, moving in a circular gnawing motion. Oh my God, I'm being bitten. Someone is actually biting me. What next? This cannot be happening? This can't be real. What the ***? I can't die like this.
Then everything went black.

 

Excerpt 2

Rachel hadn't felt so good in years. The colours of the world were vibrant and laid out before her like a beautiful carpet, a glorious vibrating kaleidoscope of nature. Birdsong echoed in her ears like a concerto and the golden welcome of the rising sun made the world look like a furnace, molten lava pouring over it all.
She sipped the coffee that she had made. It tasted bitter and she spat it out over the perfectly dressed window sill. She'd made it out of habit. Ferrers had instructed her to appear as ordinary as possible. The routine of everyday existence would eventually help her contain her urges, or rather the singularly dangerous one, the one to kill. So far, it wasn't working. Perhaps it was time to succumb to the hunger and to all the other suppressed desires now angrily bubbling to the surface.
Her reflection in the window surprised her. She had half expected it to be absent. Her hair looked thick and luxurious; her eyes sparkled and the hazel flecks in her irises danced in the sunlight. It had been years since she'd felt this good, hell, maybe a lifetime, maybe never at all. She felt strong, powerful, and alive. Had she always looked this beautiful, she wondered. Had her new vampire state made her better, or only imbued her with a new found confidence? Either way, she liked it. She could feel every nerve ending in her body, everything performing in precisely the right way, like a well-oiled machine. It was magnificent.

 

Excerpt 3

Every hair on his scalp stood to attention, every skin cell tingled, every neuron fired. Warmth spread across his chest. His heart pounded hard in his chest as she finally came to a halt before him, inches from his face. This was a new feeling - excitement maybe? He was aroused beyond his understanding, like the hunger of a starving man. She was stunning. Is this what real desire feels like, or is it the drugs? Had he ever felt this excited before? It was as if he had just been born, experiencing the world and all its sensory pleasures for the first time, all in one hit. The thought that he might not be able to perform under the drug's influence flashed across his brain, but he shook it off; there was nothing that was going to stop him from having her. He didn't care if they were in some dirty, a hundred people could walk past and he wouldn't have given a toss. He would have her, devour her. The feeling was amazing.

 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

In addition to being the creator of the developing "Sophie Morgan" series, Helen is an urban poet and social commentator who can frequently be found ranting in the Twitterverse.  She knew the degree in Sociology would come in handy some day!
Helen lives with her husband, three cats, an entrenched tea addiction and an increasing collection of stringed instruments. When she's not writing she spends her time daytime hours working in communications and volunteers for a feline welfare charity. She also spends too much time watching Supernatural and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
She also can't be trusted near stationery and has probably had more come backs than Cher.

 

 

Blog www.helentreharne.wordpress.com

 

Twitter @Tea_Talks https://twitter.com/Tea_Talks

 

Facebook: http://on.fb.me/1vOSmXq

 

GoodReads: http://bit.ly/Vg7voh 

 

Amazon US: http://www.amazon.com/Helen-Treharne/e/B00LFVTXME/

 

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Helen-Treharne/e/B00LFVTXME/

Friday, January 23, 2015

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Amanda M. Lyons

1. When/why did you decide to become a writer?

I first decided to become a writer when I was twelve, shortly after writing my first real story. I studied for a long while after and wrote lots of stories to see what I could do. The one gift I really had as a child was my imagination and that remains true now. That first story showed me that I could move people with my words and imagination, it was a powerful feeling and I knew I had found my calling.

2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today?

Stephen King, Anne Rice, Clive Barker, Poppy Z. Brite, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Bentley Little, Richard Laymon, Alice Borchardt, there are many, many writers I could list here. I’ve always been enamored with books and what I could find in them. These writers remain valid to me today. I read just about anything I can get my hands on from horror and fantasy to mystery, noir and historical or literary fiction. Story pulls me in and good writing.

3. What was the inspiration behind your novels Eyes Like Blue Fire and Water Like Crimson Sorrow?

Actually, the two books first started life as one book, the first one I had ever finished. It started as a page of freewriting I’d jotted down, not sure what I wanted to do with it, and over time I started a regimen to complete it, writing every day as often as I could. I suppose you could say that Anne Rice had a hand in inspiring me, her and many other gothic vampire writers who were publishing or had been published by the time I was in high school where I originally completed ELBF. I was also a very lonely person then, so the loneliness became something I could draw from when writing it.

4. Will we ever see these characters again?

Yes, actually the third book, Cool Green Waters, should be out in 2015 and there is already a beginning for the fourth, Hollow Black Corners of the Soul. I know there will be at least one more book after that and from there we shall have to see. These two books focus more on Zero, Michael, Mateo and another vampire named Aremia, but also feature Katja and Raven who are trying to deal with the events that happened in the first two books. There is quite a lot to learn about these characters and I cover a good sized chunk of it in these books. There are several surprises in store and, starting with Cool Green Waters, things are going to get a bit more intense in places and in overall tone. I’m hoping that readers enjoy what they find out. 

5. Can you tell the readers a little about your previous work?

ELBF was my first book, most of what came before it were short stories and things that I’m not sure will ever see the light of day being early work and a bit rickety. I do have some short stories in anthologies and a novelette out called Wendy Won’t Go which also comes in a collector’s edition with another of my stories and one by one of my fellow JEA staff members, Mark Woods.

6. Were any of the characters’ personalities or emotions taken from real life?

The whole book features quite a lot of the angst, loneliness and frustration I was feeling when I wrote it and all of the characters have a piece of me in them. Raven and Katja in particular are different facets of me trying to understand themselves. Its overall message of moving on, getting past the awfulness of a sad past and taking on your future with a certain strength seems to have been a message I was trying to tell myself. After the first two books Raven does take on some elements of my fiancé Todd, but most of their traits are still my own or from my own imagination. 

7. What other genres would you like to try your hand at?

Interestingly, I think that’s been a struggle for me, my books and stories can take on elements of several different genres and then become hard to classify and market. ELBF is neither completely horror or pnr, its gothic vampires, so where does it fit in? Fantasy often comes into my stories and, more recently, edges of sci-fi. I’ve also tried my hand at erotica and might try some bizarro down the road. I focus on stories more than anything, stories about people we can imagine and empathize with. 

8. What would you do if you were Katja?

Hopefully, I would be able to find happiness with Raven, become grounded and more secure in myself. As a person, I might not be quite so worried about having the time to do all that I want to do with my life, to write, to learn, to enjoy things more rather than hurry through or dart around trying to make time for things. I think I would miss the daylight though I’m a night owl most of the time. I know I would have killed Marie as Katja did and then continue to try and understand myself and my master’s past. 

9. Along with vampires, you have ghouls and half-bloods. What made you create these monsters in this particular storyline?

With the half-bloods I think it made sense to have a way for Marie to feel cheated and vengeful, what would be worse than feeling like your vampirehood was less than you deserved? It’s also a way to offer Marie underlings and address some of the elements of revenants, renfields and violent vampires we see in other popular vampire legends. In the case of beings like Zero, it also means that we can see what an extended life could offer and how it could wound you. 

10. Would you like to see Katja's story as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to see play your characters?

I used to dream of that when I first wrote it, but I wonder if there would be anyone that quite matched my mental images of them. It would also be hard to keep the same tone, I think. I would have to address it when it came up. I had imagined Zero being played by David Duchovny when it was first written and he was young enough to play him, he’s not really suited to the character as he stands now though. I suppose it would have to be unknowns to avoid issues. 

11. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

I’m hoping that things keep going strong. I didn’t see myself being published, much less a Lead Editor at J. Ellington Ashton Press, as of April 2013 when ELBF was originally self-published. Now I’m both traditionally published there and have been a part of building it over time. In ten years I’m hoping that JEA is doing even better than we are now and that my books are doing well. I would love to find myself writing more and creating great books. It’s strange to consider that my son would be 19 and my daughter nearly 13 then. Time is always surprising us in many ways, I hope the surprises to come are good ones. Maybe Nikolai and I’s book The Boy Who Slayed Dragons would have some sequels and maybe even more worlds. I think it would be great to see Nikki succeed in many ways. He has such a beautiful imagination and intelligence, I want to see where he goes with it. Feeling grounded and stable, maybe having a house of our own would also be wonderful. 

12. What would you be doing if you weren't writing?

I’m not sure, about the only other thing that ever interested me was forensic pathology, so maybe that, Maybe being a teacher? 

13. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next?

I’m going to be releasing a collection this year or next which contains all of my short stories from anthos and some that have yet to be published, it’s called Apocrypha. I’m also the editor for Inanna Rising: Women Forged by Fire and co-editing both Fearotica (an erotica horror antho) and For Love of Leelah: An Anthology About Souls (a charity anthology to donate to The Trevor Project in honor of Leelah Alcorn)  with Alex S. Johnson from JEA.
One of my early short stories, Jodie, is in the progress of becoming a novel and I hope to see that done by next year. It’s about a teenage girl who has been through a great deal and, when faced with a series of awful events unfolding in her life, begins to exhibit some strange gifts involving her dolls. I also have Other Dangers to complete, an apocalypse novel with horror and dark fantasy themes that I’m hoping people really like, it’s been a work in progress for many years. It may take longer than a year to finish, I don’t know. It’s about an author who writes the end of the world and then watches it happen all around her, its black magic, bad choices and redemption at a heavy price. 

14. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with?

I’ve been lucky enough to be involved with two collaborative novels at JEA, it’s quite the experience! Feral Hearts, the vampire one is already out and Lycanthroship should hopefully be out later this year, that one features werewolves. I think it would be interesting to write something with my fiancé Todd Misura and maybe Anne Rice or another author with gothic overtones. 

15. Thank you for participating in the interview. Can you please leave the readers with three things that may surprise them about you?

You’re welcome!
1. I’m a horror author who’s afraid of a lot of things, not on a phobia level, but many things give me the shivers. 
2. I faced death 3 times to have kids, one we lost and the other two are here with me. While it terrified me, in the end I have my kids and I’m still here.
3. I’m an introvert who could write your eyes out of your head once I got to know you or even have great big long conversations, but for most things I have to have a safe ground, a comfort level. I have a limit on how long I can be social and I can be overwhelmed by large crowds. 

Find Amanda M. Lyons online via:

Website: www.amandamlyons.weebly.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Amanda-M-Lyons-Author-and-Editor/357528661024257?ref=hl

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Amanda-M-Lyons/e/B00C8H0V2A

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AmandaMLyons

Thursday, January 22, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: "Eyes Like Blue Fire" & "Water Like Crimson Sorrow" by Amanda Lyons

Eyes Like Blue Fire Review:

In the mid 18th century, a woman in Germany named Katja lost everyone she ever loved to the plague. In the midst of her sorrow, a handsome man named Anton came to her, offering her love and a lifetime of it...as a vampire.
Now, three hundred years later, she wanders the world alone, haunted by the memories of all her lost loves, feeding reluctantly on those who wish for death. Until she meets Raven Nightshade, the spitting image of Anton.
But Anton's spirit haunts her, as she finds she feels something for Raven. In the shadows, though, something from Anton's past lurks, plotting death and destruction only Katja can prevent.

In Amanda Lyons' first book, Eyes Like Blue Fire, we're taken back to the great vampire novels of the 1980's, like Poppy Z. Brite and Anne Rice: a tale filled with beauty, mystique, live and danger. But it also has unique properties, like the ghouls (which slightly resemble zombies with a mind of their own), the half-bloods, what vampires are vulnerable to, and a few more points.
It is very melodramatic, but I always preferred my vampire books dark and melodramatic. It's romantic, but not overly so. The paranormal elements far outweigh the romantic ones, but they melt together very smoothly.
The story keeps you guessing, never giving away more than necessary, so that you have to keep reading to find out what happens next. Stephen King said that good books don't give up all they're secrets at once, and he was right. However, he also said that the road to Hell is paved with adverbs, and he is also right. That's my one problem with the book, that it does have quite the peppering of adverbs.
Otherwise, this book was wonderful and entertaining. I'll recommend it to everyone who loves the darker side of literature!

4/5--entertaining!

Water Like Crimson Sorrow Review:

Picking up exactly where Eyes Like Blue Fire left off, Water Like Crimson Sorrow begins with Katja finally discovering many of her maker, Anton's, secrets, and that not all old enemies are dead.
Now that enemy is after Raven Nightshade, attacking him where he's weakest: mimicking an old horror and preying on his guilt. But his aunt also has a secret, one that makes all this make more sense than ever.
Can Katja save Raven and finally know happiness?

Amanda Lyons' books are art forms in and of themselves. Before I could blink, I was sixty pages into this book. The characters are either delightful or abhorrent, the story is fast-paced and laced with all the components that make a vampire novel great: danger, bloodlust, romance and mystery.
Learning more about vampire secrets is the best thing. Ms. Lyons created her own version of the undead, not straying from the path completely, but zigzagging enough that this book is unique.
There's more danger in this one than its predecessor, and it keeps you on your toes. Another addition is the mysterious man who wants to publish Raven's book. His motives might not be so pure. This book was much better than ELBF.
With ancient evil, strong emotions and a very dark plot, this is your next favorite vampire series!

5/5--excellent

COVER REVEAL: "Blue Persuasion" by Blakely Bennett

&nbsp;
<p style="text-align: center;"> <a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-19.jpg"><img class="alignnone wp-image-206 " src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-19.jpg?w=696" alt="unnamed-19" width="588" height="435" /></a></p>

<h2 style="text-align: center;"></h2>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-6.jpg"><img class="alignnone wp-image-191 size-full" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-6.jpg" alt="unnamed-6" width="440" height="660" /></a></p>

<h2 style="text-align: center;"><b>Blue Persuasion by Blakely Bennett </b></h2>
<h3 style="text-align: center;"><strong>Bound by Your Love Series, Book 3</strong></h3>
<h4 style="text-align: left;"><b>Genre: Erotica/Erotic Romance </b></h4>
<h4 style="text-align: left;"><b>Publication Date: February 1oth</b></h4>
<p style="text-align: left;"><b>Cover Design: Yocla Designs</b></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><strong><b>Editing: Harper Jewel aka Suze</b></strong></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><b>Synopsis:</b></p>
Judy, dubbed Blue by her friends, is a voluptuous thirty-one year old woman longing for a love of her own. Even more frustrating than her dissatisfaction with her work and the unwanted attention her body garners is always coming in second with the opposite sex.

Bond, her best friend and lover, helps Blue stay sane and sexually satisfied, but she knows her place.  Their secret relationship leaves Blue hungry to have a man she can call her own.

When she finally succumbs to Cat’s artful needle for her first tattoo, she crosses paths with Tate. The towering, tattooed, motorcycle riding, American Indian fires off all her warnings signs, but she finds herself drawn to him against her own self-preservation.

Thankfully, Blue’s close-knit group of friends help to keep her grounded, as does the women’s group she attends weekly, but she still finds herself wanting and needing more.

Will Blue ever find the love she needs and deserves or will she forever come in second? Read her sexy story of friendship and love to find out.
<p style="text-align: center;"><strong><strong>
<a href="https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23716001-blue-persuasion?from_search=true"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-172" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/add-to-goodreads-button.png" alt="add-to-goodreads-button" width="134" height="45" /></a></strong></strong></p>
&nbsp;
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/blakely-teaser-blue-1-copy.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-192" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/blakely-teaser-blue-1-copy.jpg" alt="Blakely teaser Blue 1  copy" width="693" height="438" /></a></p>

<h3 style="text-align: center;"><strong>Pre-order Available Now</strong></h3>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SF0RPKK"><img class="  wp-image-193 alignnone" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/amazon.png?w=150" alt="amazon" width="135" height="61" /><img class="  wp-image-194 alignnone" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/bn.png?w=150" alt="bn" width="134" height="61" /></a><a href="https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/510398"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-195" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/smashwords-buy-button-1.jpg?w=150" alt="Smashwords-Buy-Button-1" width="156" height="61" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"></p>

<h3 style="text-align: center;"><b>About The Author</b><strong><strong>
</strong></strong></h3>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-18.jpg"><img class="alignnone size-medium wp-image-197" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-18.jpg?w=199" alt="unnamed-18" width="199" height="300" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><b>Blakely is married to a wonderful, loving, and supportive husband, who is also a writer, and who helps to keep her grounded. She is a mother, a communitarian, a lover of music (it is always on while she is writing thanks to Pandora), and a good friend. An advocate of love and female empowerment, she is also a facilitator for a women’s group. She loves to walk and hike for exercise, and finds that, since moving to Seattle, Washington, she is now one of those crazy people who walks  in the rain.</b></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><b>Blue Persuasion is her seventh novel and the third in the Bound by Your Love Series (Stuck in Between and Bittersweet Deceit). She is also the author of the dark erotic suspense My Body Trilogy (My Body-His, My Body-His (Marcello) and My Body-Mine) and the co-author of the contemporary romance, The Demarcation of Jack, which she wrote with her husband, Dana Bennett.</b></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></p>

<h3 style="text-align: center;"><strong>Connect with Blakely </strong></h3>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://www.facebook.com/blakely.bennett"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-198" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/fb_mini.png?w=150" alt="fb_mini" width="120" height="120" /></a><a href="https://www.linkedin.com/pub/blakely-bennett/37/b8a/5a4"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-199" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/linkedin-1412625598.png?w=150" alt="linkedin-1412625598" width="120" height="120" /></a><a href="http://www.pinterest.com/blakelybennett/"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-200" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/pinterest-button.png?w=150" alt="pinterest-button" width="120" height="120" /></a><a href="https://twitter.com/BlakelyBennett"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-201" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/twitter-icon.png?w=150" alt="twitter-icon" width="120" height="120" /></a><a href="http://www.blakelybennett.com/"><img class="alignnone  wp-image-202" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/facebook_credits_world_logo.png?w=150" alt="Facebook_credits_World_Logo" width="120" height="120" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"></p>

<h3 style="text-align: left;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-4.jpg"><img class="alignleft wp-image-207" style="border: 0.25px solid #000000;" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-4.jpg?w=200" alt="unnamed-4" width="276" height="414" /></a><b> Available Now</b></h3>
<p style="padding-left: 60px; text-align: justify;">Jacqs is a twenty-eight year old woman caught up in an on again, off again relationship with Bond, who is her best friend and the one who causes her the most heartache. She succumbs, yet again, to his powerful charisma, but vows not make it into more than it is, a great night of sex.</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">Bond, too sexy for his own good, wants Jacqs for himself as he “dates” his way through the female population of South Florida. He selfishly doesn’t see the conflict of interest.</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">Red, Bond’s best friend, has watched Bond take Jacqs for granted for way too long and soon stakes his own claim on her.</p>
<p style="text-align: justify;">Will Red and Jacqs budding relationship pull apart their tight-knit group of friends and will Jacqs survive being Stuck In Between.</p>

<h6><b>                                                 <a href="http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00J42Q65S/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&amp;camp=1789&amp;creative=390957&amp;creativeASIN=B00J42Q65S&amp;linkCode=as2&amp;tag=blakebenne-20">Amazon</a></b><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/stuck-in-between-blakely-bennett/1118954964?ean=9780615980379"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><b> • </b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/stuck-in-between-book-1-bound/id892474140?mt=11"><b>iBooks</b></a><b> • </b><a href="https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/450091"><b>Smashwords</b></a></h6>
<p style="text-align: left;"></p>
<p style="text-align: center; padding-left: 60px;"></p>
<p style="text-align: right;"></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-5.jpg"><img class="  wp-image-208 alignleft" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/unnamed-5.jpg?w=200" alt="unnamed-5" width="278" height="417" /></a></p>
<p style="text-align: left;">Lainie is a thirty year old, full-figured woman entrenched in a love affair with a married man. Although Lainie loves Mason desperately, she vows never to say those three little words while he remains with his wife.</p>
<p style="text-align: left;">Stayman, an enigma in Lainie’s close-knit group of friends, has been circling her with interest, trying to garner her attention. When circumstances make it clear who’s blocking his way—Mason—Stay goes full-court press in pursuit of Lainie.</p>
<p style="text-align: left;">Lainie doesn’t see Stay as relationship potential because she is blinded by her love for Mason. However, the more she learns about Stay, the more she comes to realize she never really knew him in the first place.</p>
<p style="text-align: left;">An unexplainable mystical connection evolves between Lainie and Stay and she has to choose between a man she so hopelessly loves and a man who offers her everything she needs.</p>

<h6 style="text-align: left;"><strong><b>                                                         <a href="http://www.amazon.com/Bittersweet-Deceit-Bound-Your-Love-ebook/dp/B00MALTLMA/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8">Amazon</a></b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bittersweet-deceit-book-2/id903066010?mt=11"><b> • </b></a><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bittersweet-deceit-blakely-bennett/1120019980?ean=9780692262016"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bittersweet-deceit-book-2/id903066010?mt=11"><b> • </b></a><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bittersweet-deceit-book-2/id903066010?mt=11"><b>iTunes</b></a><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/bittersweet-deceit-book-2/id903066010?mt=11"><b> • </b></a><a href="https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/460776"><b>Smashwords </b></a></strong></h6>
<p style="text-align: left;"></p>
<p style="text-align: left;"></p>
<p style="text-align: center;">Hosted by <a href="https://www.facebook.com/SocialButterflyBooks?ref=hl">Social Butterfly PR </a></p>
<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/cropped-unnamed-131.jpg"><img class="alignnone wp-image-127 size-medium" src="https://jennwatson23.files.wordpress.com/2014/12/cropped-unnamed-131.jpg?w=300" alt="cropped-unnamed-131.jpg" width="300" height="127" /></a></p>

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

BOOK SPOTLIGHT: "His Angel" by Kimberly Blalock

Title: His Angel

Series: The Angel Trilogy #1

Author: Kimberly Blalock

Publication Date: December 31, 2014

Genre: Contemporary Romance (18+)

Synopsis

When Evan Young walks into Abigale Hayes’s life she falls; mind, body, and soul for the man she thinks he is, having no idea that the secrets he holds in his hands will destroy the girl she is.  Abby must decide how the truth will affect the relationship that has her craving more with every breath she takes and how she will take revenge into her own hands. Evan will die to protect Abby and will kill for her too. The events that unfold will change who Abigale Hayes is forever.

Buy Links

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Bio

Kimberly has been writing since she was a young girl growing up in Kansas City, Mo. Reading and writing has always been a big part of her life. She enjoys a world she can get lost in while reading a good book. A wife and mother to four beautiful children she decided she wasn’t busy enough. She spent some time chasing down fugitives as a bounty hunter then laid down her hand cuffs and finished her college degree in nursing.

Kimberly loves discovering new music to jam out to and loves anything that’s different. Her many interests include Google, you heard it! Google. If you need to know any unusual or interesting fact she has searched it and can recite it. Her motto is: Why be the same as everyone else when you can stand out?

When Kimberly isn’t writing or playing superhero for her children, she takes care of her patients as a Registered nurse in the field of hospice.

Website  |   Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

Giveaway: There is a giveaway for this tour. A $15 Amazon or B&N giftcard or credit at the Book Depository. Ends 1/30. The code for the Rafflecopter is provided below.

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ff6a4f1f111/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="ff6a4f1f111" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_cocss8y2">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src="//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

COVER REVEAL: "Beachwood Bay" by Melody Grace

<strong><img class="aligncenter size-full wp-image-2680" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/cover-reveal-grahpic2.jpg" alt="" width="851" height="525" /></strong>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">Discover the passion and romance of Beachwood Bay …</span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">With over one million downloads worldwide, this <i>USA Today</i> bestselling series is celebrating with ten gorgeous new covers, three fabulous freebies and a fantastic giveaway with five signed paperbacks from Melody Grace up for grabs!</span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;"><i>“Sexy, sweet, and swoon-worthy.</i>”</span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">- Emily Snow, NYT Bestselling author</span></p>

&nbsp;

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 14pt;">Check out the series with these novellas - NOW FREE!</span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 14pt;"><a href="http://amzn.to/1vTaYpQ"><b>Untouched </b></a><b>• </b><a href="http://amzn.to/XWedla"><b>Untamed Hearts</b></a><b> •</b><a href="http://amzn.to/1pMSUNj"><b> Unrequited</b></a> <b> </b></span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><span style="font-size: 14pt;"><strong><strong>

<img class=" size-full wp-image-2684 alignnone" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Untouched.png" alt="" width="180" height="272" />      <img class=" size-full wp-image-2685 alignnone" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Untamed.png" alt="" width="181" height="270" />      <img class=" size-full wp-image-2686 alignnone" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Unrequited.png" alt="" width="186" height="264" />

</strong></strong></span></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><i>"Sizzling hot and super emotional - the perfect combo!"</i></p>

<p style="text-align: center;">- <i>New York Times </i>and <i>USA Today</i> bestselling Lauren Blakely</p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></p>

<p style="text-align: center;">Each Beachwood Bay love story can be read as standalone or as part of the series.</p>

<p style="text-align: center;">Fall in love with The Callahans and the small town of Beachwood Bay.</p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></p>

  <img class=" size-full wp-image-2687 alignleft" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Unbroken.png" alt="" width="204" height="301" />" “Mom always told me there are two kinds of love in this world: the steady breeze, and the hurricane. Emerson Ray was my hurricane…” After four years away, Juliet is back in Beachwood Bay — but her old love is determined to rekindle their passion.

 

<a href="http://amzn.to/1sJPwkT"><b>Amazon</b></a><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unbroken-melody-grace/1114820869"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble </b></a><b>• </b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/unbroken/id958386900?mt=11&amp;uo=4&amp;at=10lMu6"><b>iTunes </b></a>

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

<p style="text-align: right;">Years ago, Brit and Hunter shared one life-changing night together,<img class="alignright size-full wp-image-2688" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Unafraid.png" alt="" width="204" height="306" /></p>

<p style="text-align: right;">but Brit walked away before he could break her heart.</p>

<p style="text-align: right;">Now Hunter's back in town, their reckless passion can't be ignored.</p>

<p style="text-align: right;">But will dark secrets tear apart their new beginning?</p>

<p style="text-align: right;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></p>

<p style="text-align: right;"><b>                                                     </b><a href="http://amzn.to/1rCHVsm"><b>Amazon</b></a><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unafraid-melody-grace/1116753416"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><b> • </b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/unafraid/id958390688?mt=11&amp;uo=4&amp;at=10lMu6"><b>iTunes</b></a></p>

&nbsp;

 

<b> <img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-2689" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Unconditional.png" alt="" width="213" height="319" /></b>Carina Carina McKenzie is fleeing from her past. Garrett Sawyer isn’t looking to be

 

to be anyone’s savior. Together, they might just heal old wounds and build a new

 

a new future future together.

 

<strong><strong> </strong></strong>

 

<a href="http://amzn.to/1nJzc0e"><b>Amazon</b></a><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unconditional-melody-grace/1118923337"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><b> •</b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/unconditional/id958392310?mt=11&amp;uo=4&amp;at=10lMu6"><b> iTunes</b></a>

 

<strong><strong> </strong></strong>

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

<p style="text-align: right;">One week with a rock-star: no rules, no limits…<img class="alignright size-full wp-image-2690" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Uninhibited.png" alt="" width="208" height="313" /></p>

<p style="text-align: right;">Trying to get over her unrequited love,</p>

<p style="text-align: right;">Alicia accepts rock-star Dex Callahan’s sexy deal.</p>

<p style="text-align: right;">But when the week is up, will their passion survive?</p>

<p style="text-align: right;"><strong><strong> </strong></strong></p>

<p style="text-align: right;">                                                                               <a href="http://amzn.to/VQB1RK"><b>Amazon</b></a><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/uninhibited-melody-grace/1119977702"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><b> • </b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/uninhibited/id958398168?mt=11&amp;uo=4&amp;at=10lMu6"><b>iTunes </b></a></p>

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

 

<img class="alignleft size-full wp-image-2691" src="http://markmywordsbookpublicity.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Unstoppable.png" alt="" width="209" height="315" /> No more bad boys. Tegan Callahan isn’t looking for love —

 

but Ryland James is looking for her. He’s everything she doesn’t want,

 

but he might just be exactly what she needs.

 

&nbsp;

 

<a href="http://amzn.to/1HTdBMG"><b>Amazon</b></a><b> • </b><a href="http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unstoppable-melody-grace/1119702739?ean=2940150489219"><b>Barnes &amp; Noble</b></a><b> • </b><a href="https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/unstoppable/id958395617?mt=11&amp;uo=4&amp;at=10lMu6"><b>iTunes</b></a>

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

 

&nbsp;

<p style="text-align: left;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">       About the author Melody Grace</span></p>

<strong><strong> </strong></strong>

 

<a href="http://bookenthusiastpromotions.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/melody-grace.jpg"><img class="wp-image-9153 aligncenter" src="http://bookenthusiastpromotions.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/melody-grace.jpg" alt="melody grace" width="148" height="197" /></a>

<p style="text-align: center;"><a href="http://melodygracebooks.blogspot.com/"><b>Website </b></a><b>    </b><a href="https://www.facebook.com/melodygracebooks"><b>Facebook</b></a><b>     </b><a href="https://twitter.com/Melody_Grace_"><b>Twitter </b></a></p>

<p style="text-align: center;"><b>Melody Grace is the New York Times bestselling author of the Beachwood Bay series. A small-town girl turned SoCal beach lover, after spending her life with her nose in a book, she decided it was time she wrote one herself. She loves steamy romance novels, happily-ever-afters, and lusting after fictional menfolk. She lives in LA with her two kittens, Bucky Barnes and Steve Rogers</b></p>

&nbsp;

<p style="text-align: left;"><span style="font-size: 18pt;">                                               ***    GIVEAWAY!  ***</span></p>

<span style="font-size: 14pt;">Enter to win a set of Beachwood Bay paperbacks! One grand prize-winner will receive signed copies of Unbroken, Unafraid, Unconditional, Uninhibited, and Unstoppable.</span>

<a id="rcwidget_owd3kbbq" class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/182267ab86/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="182267ab86" data-theme="classic" data-template="">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src="//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

BLOG TOUR/BOOK REVIEW: "All The Butterflies In The World" by Rodney Jones

With her senior year looming, Tess McKinnon has two goals: hanging out with her best friend, Liz, and avoiding her judgmental, alcoholic mother. Then yummy John Bartley arrives—to tell Mrs. McKinnon that her daughter is dead. Distinctly still alive, Tess is baffled by John’s tales of 1800s time travel, rewritten lives, and love. She knows she’s never seen him before, but her feelings refuse to be denied.
When Tess and John discover an aged newspaper clipping that indicates John’s uncle was hanged for Tess’s murder in 1875, John decides to return to his time to save his uncle’s life. Not really sure she even believes in this time travel stuff, Tess checks the article after John leaves. The words have changed, and she is horrified to find that John has been hanged instead.
Armed with determination and modern ingenuity, Tess must abandon her past and risk her future for a chance to catch her own killer and find her first love for the second time.

Picking up after the first book left off (spoiler alert; sorry, I couldn't avoid this one), we find John Bartley once again trying to convince a living Tess McKinnon that he's really from the year 1875, and traveled through a time-loop to 2009.
John thinks that this time they might both live happily ever after, never going back to his time...as long as Tess doesn't call the psych ward on him!
But a trip to a local museum of their town shows him that his uncle was wrongfully hanged for Tess's murder, and he had vanished. He wants to go ball and make things right, but in order to do that he might never see Tess or 2009 again.

Just like its predecessor, All The Butterflies In The World is a fictional masterpiece. Combining historical fiction, romance, upoer-YA/NA themes and sci-fi, you won't find another book similar to this on Amazon!
What I love most about it is the emotion behind the words, the conviction the characters have. You don't feel like you're reading a fictional account of fictional characters, but rather the story of good friends for whom you hope there's a happy ending.
The biggest difference between the two books is that, What book one was solely from John's perspective, this book alternates between his POV and Tess's. It clearly displays the differences between the two characters' mindsets, and also the sweet similarities. You get to experience first-hand as Tess falls in love with John, while you live with John in the jail, before his trial.
This book has something for everyone: sci-fi fans, romance addicts and historians specializing in the 19th century. It's one of my new favorites!

5/5--a fictional masterpiece!



Purchase All The Butterflies In The World via:

Official site (has all purchase links)

Monday, January 19, 2015

BLOG TOUR/BOOK REVIEW: "The Sun, The Moon, and Maybe The Trains" by Rodney Jones

John Bartley is a teenager in the year 1875. He lives with his aunt and uncle and has a very typical life of a young man in that time. When he was younger, he found a ribbon made of a very odd material. Years later, he gets lost in that very spot. When he finds his way back to the road, it's not 1875. It's 2009. He needs to get back home, and 21st Century teenager Tess is determined to help.
What do you do when you're lost in the wrong century?

I've read over a thousand books in my life so far. I've read a few books about time travel, and none have drawn me in like this since Stephen King's Dark Tower series (though it's a vastly different story). You get to know John, his family and his time first, before you join John as his world gets turned upside down.
The characters, each and every one, no matter how brief their appearance is, are integral parts of the story. Each of them are full of originality and they all make the story that much richer.
There's a lot more going on than just an interesting plot. There's the noticeable differences between the times: electricity, cell phones, the Internet, soda, cars and television are just a few things that confuse John. Tess can't wrap her head around the fact that women in 1875 wear dresses down to their ankles, can't vote and most can't even work.
The story is also a reluctant love story. John is at the age where he needs to start courting women, and Tess is a modern American teenager. The reader knows immediately what they realize quite late, they love each other. This is a tale of love that transcends through time and space, literally. 
Science fiction mixed with historical fiction, with an added a dash of romance and a heap of suspense, all culminating to one of the most unexpected endings in literature make this a book you can't afford not to read!

5/5--a masterful piece of work!



Purchase The Sun, The Moon and Maybe The Trains via:

Red Adept Publishing (has all purchase links)

Sunday, January 18, 2015

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Richard M. Knittle Jr

1. When/why did you decide to become a writer?

Well 9 months ago my Son Ryder was taken by his birth mother, I let her into my home after she had been living on the streets of Fort Worth, I bailed her out of jail for theft from her own parents.. She took him one day to use him as a peace offering to her parents... I hit Epic Addiction Proportions and had a mental breakdown, The Battle Lost: Ryder's Birth was from when he was born till I invited her to my home, The Battle Lost Friendships Lost is from where book leaves off... That writing was healing for me, I never even imagined that today I am full Fledged and Popular Writer. Let me say this this Ride that has just begun gives me a High better than any drug can imagine!

2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today?

I was reading at a college level in 4th Grade I read EVERYTHING I could, J.R.R. Tolkien of course, Mack Maloney of the Wingman Series is awesome.

3. What was the inspiration behind your epic poem The Battle Lost: Ryder's Birth?

My son Ryder of course is a special little boy.. I believe he was born to do do much good.. His smile is magic..I love you Ryder..

4. What can we expect from your next poetry collection?

Next is if you can believe Darker and haunting.. a little secrete I wrote the last verse 6 months ago.. It all came true!

5. Why did you decide to write about your reality?

I am not sure I been told that I have a gift, in fact here I have poem that explains better..

This is called "Hope"

Hope

I was sitting alone in the park one day at lunch and I sat on the same bench where Ryder and I used to play we would sing our song and laugh and play while letting the world go by, those were bright and sunny days of just him and I. Then as I looked up it hit me I was staring right at the tree where I carved out our initials for everyone to see, so I got up and I looked but with all the tears that were now falling it was hard to see then I found it I love Ryder and Ryder loves me. All of sudden a terrible pain began in my chest and I fell hard to the ground it hit me so hard that it knocked me to my knees. I looked around and saw that everyone was watching so I threw my fist up into the air and I lifted my head up to God and I screamed as loud as I could why me? Why would you bring him into my life knowing how much I would care? I gave that little boy everything I had left to give in my heart, in my soul, all my strength that had left don’t you understand he was my reason I am still here my will to live.. I hate you God that wasn't fair at all and now I live with all of these memories that play over and over they are stuck in my head and not like I am in a dream, but now my life is nothing but a living nightmare. I look around with nothing but a blank stare I hear his little voice and I call out to nothing there. Then in a whisper I am sorry God I didn't mean what I said I am finished here I just wish you would take me now because I would rather be dead. I hurt so bad every single day from a heart that's broken and it will never heal and a soul that is dying and can no longer feel.. He is my son no matter what they do he is my little man my little bundle of joy and I miss him so very bad. I am tired of hurting from all this sorrow and regret and feeling so damn lonely and sad and I looked down and I cried. Then I remembered that he once had a son, I felt a hand as he placed it on my head then I felt him as my heart filled with so much love he wanted me to know he was listening from his home high above. He lost his one and only son to pay for all our sins. I smiled and I opened up my heart and I let him back in. I still hurt and I still cry for my son everyday but now I know our lord that is in heaven above is watching and he will let me see Ryder one day because it is fate either here on earth or high above at heaven’s gate and that is what I now Pray every night before I go to sleep... in his name

Amen!

6. What role has addiction taken in your life and what encouraging words do you have for those suffering from it now?

Addiction .. I know it can be beat I walked away from it never looking back, Now I write about it.. Your Heart, Your Mind, Your Creator are all you need to outcast that evil Traitor in fact it is the first verse of the next book.

Preview alert.....

Heart Mind Creator

Your Heart Your Mind and Your Creator
are what you need to outcast, the evil traitor.
Addiction, the evil of darkness unknown
infects your family and will find you alone.
It feeds from your anger, your pain, and your sins
that opens a door that invites it right in.
It changes the way you look at creation
and sets you up to live eternal damnation.
The darkness cares not, if your woman or man
as it spreads its evil throughout this great land.
Turning the rich in to beggars, paupers and thieves
while children become orphans our creator grieves.
He sits high above watching down in disgust
as his creations want nothing more
than money, drugs, and lust
Addiction, the evil of darkness unknown
doesn’t care if you’re poor or a king on a throne.
The darkness it spreads and continues without a fight
while we wait on a hero to help bring the light
that hero is here and is being trained as a fighter
that little boy is strong and his name is Ryder!

I say I understand your pain.. I know you will understand this...

Alone in your darkness with many people around
your demons will find you when you want to be found
it is the comfort they offer while your chaos exist
a persuasive proposal one not so hard to resist
creating a crises of conscience as it fights for your soul
it wreaks havoc in your life while it battles you for control
confusion of your emotions never peace in your head
causing reactions in thoughts that you’re better off dead
the choices you choose are out of desperation and despair
now drowning in guilt you find yourself gasping for air
bringing nothing but destruction with both families and alone
this is mankind’s greatest threat that it has ever known
it spreads like no other through cities and small towns
its name is called addiction and it infects with no cure found
the young and rich even old or poor it doesn’t care who
opens that door it only brings sorrow and heartbreak
and death evermore you can try to outrun it even hide
while you can for it infects every inch of our great land.
your family and neighbors even all of your friends can't
hide from addiction it feeds from our loneliness this evil
must end I know because it had me and my friends like Amy, DeAnna,
Stormie and Blue and many others that we all knew it changes
our thinking while destroying our souls all because we wanted to forget our own lives while we rolled and passed the bowl!

-Richard M Knittle Jr.

7. Would you ever consider writing fiction?

Yes I would, in fact. The Battle Lost goes fictional in book 3.. I just happen to have a preview :)

“He is coming let evil know that they are finished with no place to go”

“I refuse to fail or to give up and I will see my son again. I will not fall or lose my faith because I now lead Gods troops into battle for him. I hear him as he cries out for me he now sees me in his dreams our bond we have it never broke or so it seems.” A father, A solider, and A friend to all, not blood nor distance will keep them apart not even the Mother of Thrall, I have been through hell and beyond and death bygone they should know by now.. They will never break this bond or love of this Father and his Son…

The Man!

I used to be happy once with Ryder but now I'm as sad as I can be
I led my troops through battle and conquered evil as for as you can see
The demons that once roamed this land and over hill and dale
Tried to destroy me and tear us apart and they ended all to an epic fail
My lord and father who art into heaven and hallow be thy name
I know this world that was born to me is dying and going insane
Destroying people by the millions addiction now rules throughout this land
It joins with the Evil Dark Family in Emory as it waits to battle Ryder and The Man
Ryder has grown fast while away from The Man he is sad and feels empty inside
He feels like something is missing from him and the Evil Dark Family has something to hide
At night he dreams about this man who searches for him all throughout the land
He is angry and yet sad as he kills the demons and the darkness with just his bare hands
This man is myth, just a made up tale, his mother says this man he never existed
But Ryder knows that she lies and all that crystal she smokes has made her very twisted
Trading herself for poppy seeds with everyone she comes around
for days and weeks she disappears and hardly to be found
the last few nights when he closed his eyes a vision of this man would start
he could feel each and every emotion from this man in his soul and in his heart
he thought I need to find this man I know he must be real for these emotions that I am feeling are know these are for real

9. What would you be doing if you weren't writing?

IT I've been working with computers over 30 years and enjoy it, and probably haunting someones dreams..
Poets are dreamers right?... We think with our hearts and listen to ours souls. Especially for the ones that touched both.-Richard M Knittle Jr.

10. If you were to write fiction, what authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with?

Wow.. Any Poet from 1600's down lol. I would love to actually work with J.R.R. Tolkien or even Hugh Hefner.. :)

11. Thank you for participating in the interview. Can you please leave the readers with three things that may surprise them about you?

Number 1 would be, you know how you have that one friend that makes everything sexual.. :)
2. would be that I had 5 Bypasses at 41, 5 percent blood flow and no damage to my heart..
3. I want a monkey.. Really I do!



Find Mr. Knittle online via:

Official site (has all other links)

Saturday, January 17, 2015

BOOK REVIEW: "The Battle Lost: Ryder's Birth" by Richard M. Knittle Jr

An Epic Poetry Adventure that takes you on a emotional journey into one mans epic battle against the evil's of addiction and the search and fight for his son Ryder whom is not of his blood.

The Battle Lost by Richard M. Knittle Jr is a short epic poem that could be taken, in my opinion, as a literal or metaphorical read. It is meant to be taken metaphorically: demons and battles represent addiction and custody. But what I loved was that you could detach yourself from those themes if you wanted and read it from a slightly more fictional standpoint.
But it truly is a sad, loving letter really, from a father to a son. It's dark, it's heartbreaking and it's also very entertaining. It might not even take you a half hour top read, but it's words will stay with you long after the book ends.
I've always said that I don't like to criticize poetry, because it's a piece of the soul laid bare on paper for all to peruse. It shouldn't be criticized, yet it's my job to do just that. I would have liked to have read this without rhymes, just to see what the difference night actually be (if there is any).
The art that accompanies the poem is eerie, and somehow very fitting. It was a stark, cold contrast to the heated, emotional words. A wonderful medley.

5/5--beautiful!



Purchase The Battle Lost: Ryder's Birth via:

Official site (has all formats)

Friday, January 16, 2015

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Russell Brooks

1. When/why did you decide to become a writer?

I caught the writing bug in elementary school but only took it seriously when I was in high school. I was often sidetracked due since I also wanted to be a professional track athlete. I had a very wild imagination, so story ideas constantly came to me to the point I decided to write them down. Eventually I put together the first of several drafts which--after 12 years--would become PANDORA'S SUCCESSION.

2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today?

Vince Flynn was the first author to inspire me after I read TERM LIMITS. Until then I thought that action/thrillers only existed in movies and wasn't something that could be found in books. Flynn opened my eyes to that genre, and it eventually led me to read from others such as Barry Eisler, Joseph Finder, and Eric Jerome Dickey.

3. What was the inspiration behind your novel The Demeter Code?

There were several news articles that inspired THE DEMETER CODE. I won't name them because doing so would reveal several spoilers. However, the first one which really sparked the idea was an article I read two years ago about accidentally creating a biological weapon through (spoiler). After I read it, I began reading several others and also watching documentaries about the same (spoiler) subject matter. I kept a list of all 53 articles and news reports which I then referenced at the back of the book.

4. The Demeter Code is a sequel. Will we see more stories featuring these characters?

Most definitely, and I also have thoughts of writing a sequel to my standalone thriller, CHILL RUN. I can't say when, but they're both in the works.

5. What is it about spies that interests you?

It's mostly the mystery. It's a world of secrecy and covert activities. From an entertainment standpoint, there's excitement when you never know who's who. I'm fascinated by how company and government secrets are obtained by their opposition, as well as the personal sacrifices that are made by the operatives who obtain them. 

6. Were any of the characters personalities or emotions taken from real life?

Some of the characters in THE DEMETER CODE were based on real people who have either gone through or who have taken part in similar activities in real life as in the story. For instance, the arms dealer, Monzer Alghafari, in THE DEMETER CODE was based on the Syrian-born arms dealer, Monzer Al Kasser, who's currently in a New York jail after a successful sting operation by the DEA, thanks to the Patriot Act. I read extensively about him because his life read like a thriller novel. All that was left to do was fictionalize certain elements so that they could be incorporated into the story.

7. What other genres would you like to try your hand at?

I once wanted to write a horror story, but I put that on the backburner.

8. What would you do if you were Ridley Fox?

lol. If I were him I wouldn't give up on tracking down the person who murdered my fiancée and see to it that they're brought to justice.

9. I have to ask you about your short story collection, Unsavory Delicacies. In two of the stories, Ridley Fox is featured. In the other, it's about revenge via food. What inspired that?

The inspiration came from a true story out of Sydney, Australia, where a restaurant owner sued a newspaper because their food critic's review destroyed their business. It's funny you asked me this question because out of curiosity, I just googled this report for fun and just learned that last June, the restaurant won a libel suit against the Sydney Herald Times. 

10. Would you like to see The Demeter Code and its predecessor as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to have play your characters?

Currently I'm writing the screenplay for PANDORA'S SUCCESSION after my friend talked me into it. As for who I'd like to play Ridley Fox and Nita Parris in the movie, here are my choices if the movie were released today. 

11. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

In ten years I hope to have at least five other novels published and PANDORA'S SUCCESSION in cinemas worldwide.

12. What would you be doing if you weren't writing?

I'd still be working in sales.

13. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next?

I'm still unsure whether or not to write the sequel to THE DEMETER CODE or the sequel to CHILL RUN. My ideas aren't solid enough yet as I'm still doing research.

14. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with?

I'd love to partner with David Goyer on a Superman/Wonder Woman script. For a long time I had an idea for one. The only reason I never wrote it was because the chances of it being picked up by an unknown author--such as myself--are one in a billion. 

15. Thank you for participating in the interview. Can you please leave the readers with three things that may surprise them about you?

1) ​I was once on the Canadian Track Team in the 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay at the World University Games in Palma de Mallorca, Spain, 1999.

2) I started back playing the violin after a hiatus of several years.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O5PTfv65kP8&list=UUGvAga_6rslbyZltozyOYlw&index=2

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvTXYesvSng&index=1&list=UUGvAga_6rslbyZltozyOYlw

3) I often like to recite passages from novels and put them on video.

http://youtu.be/qbln3o7Vsgk?list=UUGvAga_6rslbyZltozyOYlw




Find Russell Brooks online via:

Official site (the home page will direct you to all of his social media profiles)

RELEASE DAY: "Phantom 2.0" by Leah D.W. (Blurb, Review & Character Diary Entry)

“I am a phantom. Barely human with the duty to get rid of the possessed. That is why beings like me were created, why we were bred.”
In a dying city filled with a deadly plague and even deadlier creatures, Déjà hides from a past drenched in blood and the only family she has ever known. She hates what she is and her cravings to spill fresh blood drives her away from anyone that gets too close. Living out her life wearing lace corsets and working in an underground nightclub keeps her secret from hurting others, until a bounty is placed on her head by a mystery benefactor.
Now she is stalked by an assassin that threatens to steal her heart and discovering a family of powerful beings that hold the key to her past, Déjà has no choice but to embrace what she truly is in order to battle the secrets that the city holds within its shadows.

As a fan of the paranormal, I'm very familiar with phantoms. A lot of people have different opinions on what phantoms are, exactly, but none of them give them such humanity as Leah D.W. did here in Phantom 2.0.
Right off the bat you care about Déjà, even sympathize with her. She cares about people, doesn't want them to come to harm and is forced to do things she doesn't want to to save herself. I love strong female leads like her.
The story gives you chills, it drags you in from the very first page, and it makes you think. You have to wonder who's good, who's evil and what is going to happen before the end of the story.
I definitely want to read more books with these characters! Another great work from Crushing Hearts and Black Butterfly Publishing!

5/5--excellent!

Purchase Phantom 2.0 on Amazon and add it on Goodreads!




Character Diary Entry:

I love all of the characters in Phantom 2.0, but there is one whose character and backstory is starting to develop more and more the longer I spend time with this tale and I believe he deserves to become the reader’s favourite. Cael is a club owner, sarcastic bad boy and has his own bucket full of mysteries that even shock me! He will make more of an appearance throughout the series and so here are his thoughts that took place during Phantom 2.0 (book 1) that will spark some interest for what is to come and sheds some light on the main character’s dark past:

That waitress is going to be the death of me!
Why did I ever agree to hire her? Oh yeah, her trainer threatened to turn me inside out if I didn’t give her a job that would keep her in the city instead of allowing her to return home. The girl was going to stay either way. She is keeping a secret that I don’t care of to find out, but I can see it like a shadow within those large eyes. Eyes of blue and violet thunder. Eyes that once belonged to a young girl that almost caused my death. Could she be that same little girl that sang up to a thunder storm and danced around in crimson soaked silk? Then she should be older right now. It can’t be her then. But why does she look exactly like that murdering pre-teen?
Same face. Same eyes. Same voice!
Perhaps she is her younger sister or distant cousin…?
No, that isn’t it. This frustrating woman isn’t as annoying as that doppelganger or as mentally insane. Besides…I killed her almost twenty years ago. Didn’t I? My flames charred her skin and turned her into a pillar of ash before she was able to sink her blade into my heart. So…that waitress can’t be her unless that girl was immortal or…
Could it be? I’ve heard the stories but…they are just stories. Right?
Perhaps Kyra is keeping a secret of her own from me and that is one I intend to find out, before that waitress burns down my club!




Find Leah D.W. online via:

Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7031888.Leah_D_W_

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Miss-Leah-D.W./e/B00E7RYP4E

Twitter https://twitter.com/authorleahdw

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/leahdwauthor

Google+ https://plus.google.com/100881211345988951568

Blog http://authorleahdw.blogspot.com/