Wednesday, June 20, 2018

BOOK REVIEW + AUTHOR INTERVIEW: "Midsummer's Bottom" by Darren Dash


The Midsummer Players stage an outdoor version of A Midsummer Night's Dream every year on Midsummer's Eve, in a glade in a forest. The actors have a wonderful time, even though they’re dreadful. Audience members appreciate the effort they put in and applaud politely, but almost never attend more than once. Except for... 
...the fey folk! 
All of the fairies named in the play are obliged to attend every performance, due to a deal that they struck back in the day with a mischievous Master Shakespeare. In an attempt to disband the irksome Midsummer Players on the eve of their twentieth anniversary, Oberon and Puck hire a human agent of chaos to infiltrate the actors' ranks and set them against one another by focusing on secret attractions and grudges that have been lying dormant up to now. Sparks will fly, and everyone will come to blows, but it's all executed with a wink and a grin, and there will be more smiles than tears by the end. At least, that’s the plan... 
Inspired by the Bard's immortal play (which it also weaves into its plot), this light-hearted Comedy is a novel in the spirit of the movies Smiles Of A Summer Night and A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy, and the musical A Little Night Music. For lovers of Shakespeare, chaos and fairies everywhere.


I received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.


By now, I should be used to receiving surprises once I open my Kindle to a new Darren Dash book. Right? But when I opened my email and saw that this book was to be derived from Shakespeare and comedic in nature, I admit even I scratched my head a little. Dash's three previous literary offerings have been horrific in their own way, despite being different genres, so what was I to expect from a comedy?
Frankly, combining Dash and Shakespeare (both childhood favorites of mine), would make me want to dive right in, and so I did.
It starts out with Del Chapman, the aforementioned human agent of chaos. He sets the tone by sending out a computer virus through an entire company's computer system, destroying it for fun. He then steals a car and goes joyriding. It's only when he crashes said car near a glade in Limerick, Ireland that things start to get weird.
The fairy Puck rescues him ... but he wants something in return. Del must infiltrate an amateur showing of A Midsummer Night's Dream and destroy it so that the humans never, ever perform it together again.
Enter ... everyone else. The rest of the characters are made up of a middle-aged married couple, a beautiful young actress, a romance novelist and her new husband, a gay DJ and his boyfriend, and a shy banker. It's not a super large cast, but their backstories and issues mean you really need to pay attention to remember who is who, who's sleeping with whom, and who wants to sleep with whom.
This book is highly adult in nature, so anyone under 18 might want to shelve this till their next birthday.
The story, while occasionally venturing into Feyland and getting highly fantastical, is a hyper-realistic tale of humanity. There is cheating, discovering one's sexuality, blossoming romance, sex-for-opportunity, body image issues, secrets, lies, and so much more than I ever expected to find in less than 500 pages about amateur actors in Ireland.
You get this intricate, stripped bare look at humanity. There are no frills in this story. It's all right there, in your face. Dealing with weight, age, infidelity, identity, and the truth so dark you need a floodlight to see it properly. It's funny, yes. Some things had me actually laugh out loud. But this is darker than it seems on the surface, and about so much more than fairies wanting an acting troupe disbanded.
Anna and Nuala are by far my favorite characters, but everyone had an endearing quality about them (even Terrence, whom I wanted to slap more than once), especially Finn, the changeling from Feyland. We got to see him assimilate to the human world, and alternately, we got glimpses of Diarmid, a human, learn to love Feyland. Those moments of them discovering these new worlds and falling in love with them were truly some of the most shining moments of the book. The scenes are filled with sweet wonder, little pockets of light amidst the chaos of the main story.
I loved the diversity. Bisexual, gay, questioning, straight, cross-dressing: there was a little of everything in this small cast, and the representation without shame, without it feeling forced, was wonderful.
The best thing about Dash's writing is how well he writes people. You never get the same character twice, and every single one is handcrafted, unique, endearing. He has a talent for making characters feel like they're real, like you know them and care about them. I don't know how he does it; maybe he has a little bit of Puck's influence in him, like the Bard did so long ago.
As always, I end my review by telling you that you need to buy this book. Why? Not because I am a longtime fan of his, but because this book rocks. I don't care if the name on the cover was Joe Blow, this story should be read by pretty much any human over the age of 18, because it literally has something for everyone, a character to relate to or sympathize with.
While it isn't my favorite Dash book (An Other Place still holds that title), A Midsummer's Bottom is engaging, humorous, and intricately woven to grip you and take you straight to a beautiful green glade in Limerick.
Another brilliant offering from Dash!

5/5 Stars!





EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH DARREN DASH:


  • Midsummer's Bottom is obviously based around the famed Shakespeare play. What is your favorite work by the Bard and why?
    Well, I kind of have to say A Midsummer Night's Dream or the fairies will come and attack me! But in truth my opinion changes over the years, based on the quality of different productions, the mood I'm in when I watch them, etc. I love King Lear, but I've seen a couple of dull enough productions of it. Hamlet is, of course, majestic, but I'm giving it a wide berth at the moment, as I saw several versions of it in a relatively short period of time and I've overdosed on it. One of the ones that really stands out for me is The Tempest. I saw a local (Limerick) production of it many years ago, where they completely converted a theatre, and it was my first exposure to what theatre can be in the right hands, where it becomes an immersive experience rather than something you just sit back and watch. The players - the Island Theatre Company - also put on A Midsummer Night's Dream a year or two later, and it was that production that led me to write Midsummer's Bottom -- their version was slickly presented and very professional and funny, but I came away from it wondering what might happen if a bad set of players got their hands on the play, and Midsummer's Bottom is the result of those musings.
  • The cast is amazingly diverse, even by today's standards. Who is your favorite, least favorite, and why?
    Finn (a human changeling who has been raised by the fairies in Feyland and comes to Earth for the first time in the book) was the most fun to write. I've always enjoyed comedies where fish-out-of-water get to experience our world and society, e.g. Star Trek IV, or a brilliant 1970s film called Being There. It allows us, the readers or viewers, to see ourselves through different eyes and chuckle at what ludicrous creatures we are. I didn't have a least favourite character -- I tried to devote roughly equal time to all the main members of the cast, and I felt attached to them all. They're a bunch of bumbling fools, for the most part, but my plan wasn't to be cruel and write a book where readers would laugh at the dunderheads in it -- my point (which Shakespeare was always keen to remind us in his plays, and especially his Comedies) is that we're all fools in our own ways, exactly like the actors in Midsummer's Bottom, and we should celebrate and laugh at our foolishness.
  • If you could visit Feyland, would you?
    Are you kidding? I'd be over there in a heartbeat if I had the chance! Like Del in the book, I don't think it's a place I'd want to linger too long - I like the chaos and foolish uncertainty of our world - but I'd certainly love to spend a short vacation there, if only to see what the Hairy Mountain that I mention in the book looks like!
  • If you could sit down and meet any of the characters in the book, who would it be and what would you do/talk about?
    Hmm... While I'd love to name-check one of my own creations here, a certain bard from Stratford makes a cameo appearance in Midsummer's Bottom late on in the book, and how could any writer not want to sit down with the shade of Will Shakespeare and quiz him about his incredible works? (As an aside, the character of Shakespeare has my favourite line in the entire book, when he comments on his (in)famous use of iambic pentameter...)
  • You've written about many mythological and paranormal creatures during your career as both Darren Dash and Darren Shan. What creature have you yet to tackle in a book and want to?
    To be honest, I don't have a bucket list of monsters. I'm always far more interested in telling a good story than I am in writing about specific creatures. I don't look for stories to go with monsters -- I look for good story ideas first, then start wondering what sort of creatures might best fit them.
  • If you were Del, contacted by Puck, would you agree to do as he wished and ruin the play? If yes, would you do anything differently than he did?
    Del is pretty much my avatar in the book, so I'd have done everything much the same as he did. As for ruining the play... his aim was never to just wreck it, but to elevate it to a point of such ridiculousness that it would actually become an engaging work of wonder on its own terms. Like Del, I'm all for creating great art out of chaos!
  • Last, if you had the ability to make Puck the fairy cause mischief for anyone, anywhere in the world, who would you sic him on?
    Anyone who, likes the actors in the book, takes themselves too seriously. We humans are silly things, and we should never forget that, or frown upon mere silliness. I like to think that if Puck really existed, he would be like The A-Team -- "If you know an anally retentive stick-in-the-mud, if no one else can make them smile, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire... Puck!"

Friday, June 8, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Wire" by Rae B. Lake

Wire
A Wings of Diablo MC Novel
by Rae B. Lake

Available on Amazon Now!
Add to your TBR: https://bit.ly/2xiZSp6


Wire-
I am the pain manager at the Wings of Diablo MC Club. What’s that mean? It means that if my brothers need information they call on me to get it out of you. You should see the art I can create with a blow torch or a serrated blade or my favorite, barbed wire. I have been known to have a cold fearless heart. To stand in the middle of a gun fight without a care in the world, tear flesh from bodies and not even blink when my mark would scream and cry. Nothing reaches me, I am numb to the world. Chaos is my meditation. That is until I meet Keeley. Now one small piece of false information, one wrong victim and one war later she is completely under my skin.



Keeley-
He just shows up in my backyard pointing a gun in my face and bleeding profusely. If I would have known at that precise moment my world would turn on its head I would have never let him in. I left my home to get away from the violence and the wars yet here I am back in a world I don’t want to be in. I would run but no one excites me like Dillon does, no one protects me like Dillon does, and no one makes me scream in pleasure like him either. As hard as his life is and even with my own life in danger there is no where I would rather be than in his arms, I am his.


Join us at the Release Party for Wire! If you're a Biker, Ol' Lady, Bike Bunny, or maybe just a huge fan of MC Romance books; you'll want to be here: https://bit.ly/2BW7yiK



Enter this AMAZING GIVEAWAY of a bundle of eBooks and a $25 Amazon gift card by filling out this short form. All you need to do is purchase Wire between June 8, 2018 - June 10, 2018, make sure you have your confirmation/order number, enter by filling out this form, and ONE (1) lucky winner can have it all!



About the Author:


Rae is a daydreamer, nurse, bookworm, nature enthusiast, wife, momma, animal activist and an optimist. She has lived her entire life in NYC and loves to travel with her family. She believes that sweets should have a larger piece of the nutritional pyramid and that Buffy the Vampire Slayer was one of the best TV shows ever invented. When she is not working as a nurse in her community, she can either be found reading, writing, or taking a walk while listening to music. She has been writing books in her mind for as long as she can remember but decided that maybe there were others out in the world that would find joy in the words she would put down on the page.

Follow Rae on Social Media:


Tuesday, June 5, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Hybrids" by T.A. Moorman

Hybrids
Underlayes, #1.5
by T.A. Moorman, GothicMom's Studios



Anya has never been one for the spotlight, but her family seems to now be front and center, and the talk of the town in Underlayes. In the aftermath of her mother’s death, the discovery of said mother’s deceit, and Anya’s half sister getting ready to challenge her own father for the witch’s throne, keeping a low profile may prove to be difficult.

Kierra has never been one for many words. So if she were forced to explain how she impregnated Anya, it probably wouldn’t be easy for her. Especially since the truth would mean revealing her origins; she’s not a vampire, or even anything close to it. And living in a realm where her kind isn’t allowed may cause a few ramifications. Plus, should the kid call her Mom, or Dad?

Jump right back into the world of Underlayes where this magical family takes dysfunction to brand new heights.


Click here for the Hybrids Release Event June 5, 2018!:


Chapter 1

“What the fuck happened to you, Anya?” were the only words thrown at me as I flashed into my living quarters, right before being pulled into a crushing embrace by my mate who was so emotional she kept flashing between being male to female. My entire body was so numb I couldn’t tell how many times she transformed. Truth be told, I didn’t care. Being in Kierra’s arms was all that mattered, whether there was a perfectly sculpted masculine chest or a large pair of succulent breasts. It meant I was finally home.

After everything that had just transpired, my entire being had felt numb, right down to the depths of my soul, the feeling going beyond skin and bone-deep. Being with my Fated One didn’t take all the pain away, but it did at least make me feel grounded again and helped me to feel something other than the pain of losing a mother whom I never had a chance to figure out I loved more than I hated her or vice versa.

So, not only did I miss out on having a mom to idolize when I was young, and fight with and terrorize as a teen, I also would never be able to confront her as an adult for everything that she had done.
Even though I was more vampire than witch than my sister Tialanna, I still resented being the one our mother had decided to let go.

My mind replayed what had happened no more than a mere few hours ago…

“Anya, I’m not going to insult you with apologies.” My left eye twitched at that. I couldn’t help it, and I hadn’t bothered to try and hide it. She wasn’t supposed to die yet, and she owed me so much more than an apology. “What I did, I did only because of how much I love you. The beliefs as they are right now within the witch community? No way would you have been able to survive that. The king would have taken one look at you and killed you on sight, no questions asked and no answers needed. Which is something you girls are going to have to change. Your fire may be gone, but a flame still burns bright within you, honey. Hone your new element and let it shine through.”

My mother sucked in one long, final gasp of air. “I love you girls, all of you, and I know you will make all this right.”

With that, her eyes glazed over and her body went completely limp.
Looking at my sisters, Tia and Elyssia, with tears streaming down their faces, my own remained dry. And for a brief moment, I hated them both. Which was completely unfair. It wasn’t their fault what happened, any of it. But I couldn’t help the anger I felt for them having been with this woman for their entire lives, none the wiser that I had even existed. When I looked back down at my mother’s body, I felt anger at her for abandoning me and fear at what she had left us to face. There was also the fact that she had given her element to me so that I could live. There was a turmoil of emotions dominating for control inside of me.

I allowed myself to sink deeper into Kierra’s embrace, losing myself as her lips captured mine in a kiss that went beyond physical contact and began to put a healing balm on my shattered soul. I don’t think I ever referred to her as a male, even when she was penetrating me as one. Some distant part of my brain was telling me that this time, however, I needed to help her regain control and remain in her female form. But right then, neither of us cared about anything except being as close to one another as possible.

So, when Kierra was finally able to settle on just one form, it didn’t matter to me that it was her male form. And I also didn’t stop to spell myself against getting pregnant.

I reached up and ran my hands through now shoulder-length, silky jet-black hair as Kierra deepened the kiss even more and brought my body flush against a chest that was all male and packed with smooth, hairless muscles, and an erection that was impossible to miss. At some point we both must have done away with our clothes, because before I knew it, we were already on the bed with my legs wrapped firmly around Kierra’s waist. And we made love, as male and female.

If I were being one-hundred percent honest with myself, I would admit that Kierra’s male form was exactly what I needed at that moment. I loved making love to Kierra in her female form, but that wasn’t what I needed at that particular moment in time.

Kierra entered me hard and strong, and for a couple of moments made no move, leaving her rock-hard shaft, seemingly growing in length, lying there inside of me, and rubbing my clitoris with her thick, calloused thumb. My mind blanked out of all thoughts, and primal instincts took over where all I could do was feel as Kierra began to thrust, rubbing and hitting against my walls at a perfect pace. “Harder,” I managed to say, right before I sank my fangs into the throbbing pulse point that seemed to be calling out to me.


It wasn’t long before juices began flowing out of me as Kierra let out a long stream of thick, wet heat inside my core. After a few more thrusts, we came together once more. Without breaking our connection, Kierra rolled over so that I was the one on top, and just held me as I laid my head down on that sweaty, muscular chest. We both drifted off, content in each other’s arms, not yet ready to let reality back in.


Click here for the giveaway:




Hosted by:

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Vampire Hunters" by Rosemary A. Johns

ೋ🌹ღೋ ೋ🌹ღೋ

*˛˚ RELEASE BLITZ ˚ ✰*

ೋ🌹ღೋ .ღ ೋ🌹ღೋ .ღೋ


VAMPIRE HUNTRESS

REBEL ANGELS, VOLUME ONE

BY ROSEMARY A JOHNS

vampirehuntress-final

Vampires and angels are locked in a deadly war. But first, they want their daughter back.

Half vampire/half angel, Violet, was abandoned amongst the humans in London as a baby. Suddenly discovering monstrous powers on her twenty-first birthday, she thinks she’s the most dangerous creature to prowl the streets.

She’s wrong.

When a snarky angel falls into her lap and her adopted sister disappears, Violet is forced into a new role: Huntress. But the deeper she’s dragged into this supernatural world, the more she struggles to survive.

On the run, Violet’ll have to rely on a sexy vampire geek, while facing off the harem boy angel threatening her sister. And there’s only one way she’ll win: by letting out the monster...

teaser 7teaser 6teaser 10


This party will be taking place on May 26, 2018 in the Author Friends With Benefits Group. Be there, you won't wanna miss this! For now, invite your friends to the large link above and we’ll make sure everyone knows how to request a join to the group. It's so exciting! Have you seen this lineup? A plethora of different genres with their own games and possible prizes!

30762752_574953956217549_7454792514836287611_n

EXCERPT ONE

Vampires? Angels? All I know is they’re both bastards.

And I hunt bastards.

In the beginning, I made games about them. None of it was real, only play. I was human, after all, in a world of humans. At least, I reckoned so. The gamer and developer, lost in make-believe.

Until everything changed, and the monsters fell from above.

Except, they tasted of sugar and blood.

teaser 1

EXCERPT TWO

There are dark kisses that bruise your soul as well as your mouth. Kisses as soft as feathers. Light. Gentle. Kind. Whereas others blaze and burn to ash.

And then there are kisses that are a revelation.

As I drifted back towards the grey, once more out of the black, soft lips kissed mine.

The kiss didn’t bruise or burn but it was firm and possessive.

Right.

Until it wasn’t.

I bit hard. The bastard gasped, and the mouth pulled back. But not before a coppery sweet blood crescendo exploded; my tongue chased after heaven.

It’d been Rebel’s kiss…and blood.

The new, fluttering forces deep within me awoke and roared at the taste, claiming Rebel. Wanting him, even if I didn’t.

How had I lost control even of myself?

Then I blinked awake.

Rebel peered down at me, concerned. He stroked my arm, as he had when I’d first awoken; I reckon it soothed him more than me.

Rebel hadn’t chained me this time, only snapped steel handcuffs around my wrists.

Maybe he was experimenting with bondage techniques.

When Rebel leaned closer, I elbowed him — oomph — in the guts. ‘Congratulations, you’ve just made my List of Asses to Kick.’
teaser 8

About The Author:

WINNER OF SILVER AWARD in the National Wishing Shelf Book Awards. ROSEMARY A JOHNS is also author of the bestselling Rebel Vampires series. ROSEMARY A JOHNS is an award-winning, #1 Amazon bestselling fantasy writer, music fanatic, and paranormal anti-hero addict. She writes sexy angels, savage vampires, and epic battles. Rosemary is also a traditionally published short story writer. She studied history at Oxford University and ran her own theatre company. She’s always been a rebel… Want to read more and stay up to date on Rosemary’s newest releases? Sign up for her *VIP* Rebel Newsletter and get a FREE novella!
https://mailchi.mp/rosemaryajohns/subscribe-rebel-newsletter
teaser 3
Website: https://rosemaryajohns.com
➡ Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/rosemary-a-johns
➡ Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Rosemary-A-Johns/e/B01JOJVTNE
➡ Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15571684.Rosemary_A_Johns
➡ Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RosemaryAnnJohns
Twitter: @RosemaryAJohns
➡ Google: https://plus.google.com/+RosemaryAJohnsRosemaryAJohns1
➡ Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/rosemaryjohns1
TwitterBanner

Series by Rosemary A Johns

Rebel Vampires
Rebel Angels


 received_10156072401796558

r1r2




Hosted by
Sweet Poison Banner

Thursday, May 10, 2018

BOOK SPOTLIGHT: "Midnight Musicals and Coffee Ice Cream" by Layla Dorine



Midnight Musicals and Coffee Ice Cream by Layla Dorine
An escort and his client…could it ever be more than a business transaction.
Midnight Musicals and Coffee Ice Cream Blurb
Takashi never imagined that a simple call to an escort service would result in meeting Zander. What started out as a date to the winter gala at his office, morphed into a series of paid dates that offer him several unique opportunities to get to know the handsome, enigmatic escort.
Zander hates feeling like an ornament. After four years he’s ready for a new occupation. Unfortunately, he isn’t skilled enough for any job that would pay him the money he needs to make to support himself and his family. So, he stays with Mateo’s agency and keeps on taking clients, refusing to call them dates because that’s too personal.
Until Takashi.
Now their both trying to make the best of the brief moments they have together, blurring the lines more and more with every passing night. Takashi wants more, Zander wants to give it to him, but only after he gets the rest of his life worked out. Only problem is, he has no idea how.
Buy Links
US Amazon:  https://www.amazon.com/Midnight-Musicals-Coffee-Ice-Cream-ebook/dp/B07CZ4BQ1D
UK Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Midnight-Musicals-Coffee-Ice-Cream-ebook/dp/B07CZ4BQ1D
JP Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.jp/Midnight-Musicals-Coffee-Ice-Cream-ebook/dp/B07CZ4BQ1D
CA Amazon: https://www.amazon.ca/Midnight-Musicals-Coffee-Ice-Cream-ebook/dp/B07CZ4BQ1D
AU Amazon: https://www.amazon.com.au/Midnight-Musicals-Coffee-Ice-Cream-ebook/dp/B07CZ4BQ1D
About the Author
LAYLA DORINE lives among the sprawling prairies of Midwestern America, in a house with more cats than people. She loves hiking, fishing, swimming, martial arts, camping out, photography, cooking, and dabbling with several artistic mediums. In addition, she loves to travel and visit museums, historic, and haunted places.
Layla got hooked on writing as a child, starting with poetry and then branching out, and she hasn’t stopped writing since. Hard times, troubled times, the lives of her characters are never easy, but then what life is? The story is in the struggle, the journey, the triumphs and the falls. She writes about artists, musicians, loners, drifters, dreamers, hippies, bikers, truckers, hunters and all the other folks that she’s met and fallen in love with over the years. Sometimes she writes urban romance and sometimes its aliens crash landing near a roadside bar. When she isn’t writing, or wandering somewhere outdoors, she can often be found curled up with a good book and a kitty on her lap.
Layla Dorine can be found at:
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100005197938547&fref=ts Twitter: https://twitter.com/layladorine
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/layladorine/
Tumblr: https://layladorine.tumblr.com/
Author Website: layladorine13.wix.com/layladorineauthor
Author on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/9814124.Layla_Dorine




Midnight Musicals Excerpt #3
Rolling on his back, Corban brushed his shaggy blond hair from his eyes and stretched, eyes catching on the remnants of his ‘Zander’ persona draped carefully over the back of his chair. He’d take it to the drycleaner later, when he was running the rest of his errands. This time of year, there’d be several other formal events to attend and he only had four carefully cobbled together outfits to mix and match between. The clock on the end table said eight forty-three, shit, he’d have happily slept for another hour or two. A quick glance at Ainsley and he knew she’d been up for hours. Her hands were already dye stained and there was a little purple smudge on her cheek. It matched the streaks in her mahogany brown hair, but Corban knew those were deliberate. Her golden eyes were framed by red reading glasses that took up half of her face, the wide, circular lens, giving her a slightly owl-like appearance. It was classic Ainsley, ‘funky nerd’ perfect for her workshop or anywhere else she might care to wander. Right now, though, the look she was giving him was part concern and part frustration and he could practically feel another lecture coming on.
“Come on, Ains, not this morning, okay? I’m careful, you know that. It’s been four years already and nothing has ever happened.”
“It doesn’t mean nothing ever will.”
Corban glanced over at the window to see that the sky was a bright blue, speckled with clouds and the sun was shining unobstructed today. Didn’t mean it wouldn’t rain later but at least for now, it was absolutely beautiful. Not that he was ready to rise and greet it. Groaning, he grabbed his pillow from Ainsley’s lap and yanked it back over his head, only to have Ainsley snatch it away and smack him with it.
“Really?” he grumbled.
She flopped over backwards and rested her head on his chest, her fingers splayed over his heart.  “You’re my best friend. I don’t know what I’d do if someone hurt you.”
Sighing, he stroked the soft, silky strands of her hair. “Beat them with sparkly fabric until they were choking on glitter, then stab them with those red hooker heels you have tucked away in the back of your closet.”
Giggling, she smacked a hand across his abs and hugged him tighter, holding her body along his side. “You better believe it.”
He slung an arm over her and continued playing with her hair, reminded of the cat he’d had for a brief time as a child. He’d loved falling asleep to Jinxx purring on his pillow. Now he lay there, eyes drifting closed as he tried to sink back into sleep again, wishing Ainsley could purr too.
“So, what was it like?”
Her question startled him a little, drawing him away from the soft void that had been gently pulling him under. “Hmmm?”
“The gala, come on, dish on all the details. I know there were a lot of fancy dresses. What did they look like? You have to describe them for me. How was the Champagne? Was it the good stuff, or that cheap crap that gives a too fast buzz and a hell of a hangover? Were there people making out in the shadows? And secret trysts in dark corners? How about the food, was it any good?”
“All of the above and a ton of amazing hors d’oeuvres. The champagne was top shelf, but I only had one, as always. The dresses were ordinary, I hate to say. There were very few outfits that stood out. Takashi’s did though, utterly unique and looked like it was made for him. There was a huge fountain, completely frozen in the lobby, it was fuckin’ surreal. There was a koi pond too, the fish were huge, and beautiful. I could have sat there for hours and watched them.”
“It never ceases to amaze me how rich people spend their money,” she muttered, skimming her fingertips along his side until he shivered and began to laugh.
“It was nice though. I mean, no one was loud, and Takashi was a very good dancer. I only saw one couple making out in the shadows, and they left together so I’m pretty sure it wasn’t a secret tryst or anything.”
“Think he’ll be one of your regulars?”
“I hope so, but I wouldn’t count on it. He wasn’t like most of my other clients.”
“Really?”
She was playing with his hair now, and he sighed, relaxing even more. If it wasn’t for Ainsley he wouldn’t know what it felt like to be cuddled and hugged. While some might infer something completely different from how tactile they were with one another, they both knew there would never be anything between them but a deep, and long-standing friendship.
“Yeah, it, I expected him to be older, in his fifties, you know how rare it is for my clients to be younger than that, but Takashi was, well he really looked young, like no way was he in his forties yet.”
“Uggg, that’s still old enough. I could never let someone our parents ages paw at me, let alone touch me with their wrinkly old cock.”
“Come on, Ains, it ain’t like that and you know it. The way my dating record has been, I’ll die a virgin.”
“That’s because you stubbornly insist on waiting for feelings. Blech.”
He chuckled, and stroked her arm, encountering a smudge of green glitter paint. “Is it wrong to want to be loved?”
“No, but it is wrong to waste your youth waiting for something as temporary as love.”
“I wouldn’t know.”
“Awe, honey, I love you, and that will never be temporary. The rest of the world out there, can fuck right the hell off. Fuck those people.”
“Believe me, I’d like to,” he grumbled.
“Then do it,” she said, far too excited for how early it was. “I’ll help you.”
“Um, Ains, I’m pretty sure you’re lacking one basic piece of equipment for that.”
“I mean by being your wingman and helping you find a hot stud of a bear to take care of that little issue for you. Unless you want me to go get a strap-on and see if I can’t rock your world.”
He shuddered, grimacing at the images that conjured up. “God, Ains, don’t even joke like that. How awkward would that be?”
“Probably about as awkward as the time I kissed you.”
“Please don’t remind me about that.”


Guest Post #2
Greetings and thank you so much for hosting me and my new release Midnight Musicals and Coffee Ice Cream. One of the things that I really wanted to explore in telling Takashi’s story was the concept of time. Its easy to get so involved in something you loose track of a day. As a book lover this happens to me all the time, be it while I’m reading or while writing. I get lost in photography as well, and wandering museums, fossil hunting and almost everything else I love. But what happens when someone comes to love their work above just about everything else in their life?
With Takashi I had the opportunity to explore that. He’s a workaholic, one of the first people in and last people out of the building each night, takes his work home with him, has an almost non-existent social life made worse by the fact that in the months leading up to the story’s beginning he’s slowly been forgetting to make time for family and friends.
It’s not that he’s uncaring or disinterested in them, its simply that he’s good at what he does and rather enjoys it too, and because his last relationship ended so badly, he decided that hurling himself headlong into work would be better than actually dealing with it and trying again.
One of the saving graces of the character is his love of plays, musicals and all things theater, which sometimes is the only break he gets from his work, be it to attend in person or to sit back and indulge in a homemade pizza and video.
Pairing him with Zander helped pull back some of his layers. I enjoyed learning about some of the other things he enjoyed and watching him interact outside an office setting and I hope as readers, you will enjoy these things too and come to view him as a character with depth and substance despite his outward reservations.

Through the side characters he comes in contact with, I also looked to show different concepts of time. From his best friend, who is slowly dialing back his own work hours to make time for family, to his highly driven and creative fashion designer sister who has also come to realize that there are things to be enjoyed outside of the workroom. Add in Zander’s personal timeline for making changes in his life, and Ainsley’s ability to project plan and create in a home working environment while still taking time out to enjoy herself, and it became an interesting journey into what people do with the time they have and how they view time in the first place.