Wednesday, November 14, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Soul Syndicate" by Lily Luchesi and Faith Marlow




AVAILABLE NOW, FREE VIA KINDLE UNLIMITED!

A soul is a heavy burden to bear.

There’s a gala celebrating the city and many notable celebrities are attending, including a rock star, a socialite, a baseball player, and an entertainment reporter. Each of them is notable in their own right, and each one holding a secret.
When they all get stuck in an elevator together after the gala is over, they think that that is the worst thing that could happen to them...until the doors finally open.
It’s a battle for the ultimate prize: their souls and the souls of everyone else on Earth. Can they save the world, or will these disparate individuals kill each other first?
The world as they knew it has gone, now they have poppies attached to their chests and are facing down soulless friends, family, and strangers, including a crotchety old woman and a former drag queen.


Excerpt:

Jake and Xander came up behind the women, and Jake then saw what the others were seeing. Or rather, what the others didn’t see. It was the middle of the day on Saturday, just a week from Thanksgiving in downtown Chicago. And yet the street was empty of people.

“Guys? Why do I feel like I’m about to be in an episode of The Twilight Zone?” he asked, gazing around at the empty street and shops. It didn't seem like any of them had even opened that morning, closed signs hung in every window.
“Is there a holiday we forgot about?” Xander asked.
Rachael scoffed. “Places stay open on Christmas these days. Trust me; there’s no holiday. But should we check the news? Perhaps something's going on that we missed in the elevator.” She looked at Lianne. “I’m going to guess you don’t have any news apps on your phone, do you?”
Without waiting for an answer, she rummaged in her purse for her smartphone, clicking on the local news’ app. Jake looked over her shoulder as she flicked down, refreshing it. Nothing changed. It stayed with the same report from eleven the previous night, about the gala.
“Maybe it’s broken,” Jake said. “Check Twitter.”
“Thank you, peanut gallery,” Rachael said, clicking on the other app. Jake saw that she followed about eight thousand people. Yet there were no updates from anyone since eleven the previous night, central time. “Is it my connection?” She typed out a quick tweet, “Hello, is this thing on?” and it posted immediately. And why was Wifi working but not landlines or text messages?
She showed the phone’s screen to the other three who just stared.
“What could this mean?” Xander asked. “An empty street, no one online except for us, apparently...it doesn’t make sense.”
Lianne shook her head. “I don’t get it. Let me call someone. See if anyone’s got an answer.” She took out her phone and pressed a few buttons, holding it to her ear. After a few minutes, she hung up. “It went to voicemail. But it’s my mom; she doesn’t always answer.”
Jake then recalled that he was supposed to be back home last night. His wife must have been worried sick about him. Taking out his phone, he was dismayed to see that there wasn’t a single text or missed call from her. Wasn’t she worried? Or even upset that he pulled an all-nighter while she was home alone with their son? And what about his band? Didn’t they wonder why he hadn’t shown up for rehearsal?
“Anybody hear from anyone?” he asked. “I mean, we’ve all got to have at least one person who would have text messaged us.”
Rachael nodded. “My editor. I was supposed to turn in my report by noon, which means he would have been hounding me by nine. But nothing.”
“Do you know how many notifications I get in an hour?” Lianne asked, preening a bit. “There’s not a single one on here.”
Xander grinned ruefully as he said, “In the off-season, she’s the only one who nags me.”
“Why you little—”
“Cool it with the antagonization,” Rachael said. “Something’s wrong here. Seriously wrong. And we need to figure out what.”
Lianne scoffed. “We’re not the police. Let them figure it out. I mean, isn’t that what we pay taxes for?”
Jake watched as Rachael cocked her head, a lock of dark hair falling across her forehead. “Huh. And here I never would have expected you to know what your taxes went for or how to pay them.”
Lianne’s mouth dropped and she was about to retort when Jake gasped. A sudden pain hit him in the center of his chest, like there was a little knife inside stabbing its way out. Everyone turned toward him, but he couldn’t be bothered with their quizzical glances.
He unbuttoned his shirt partway, the pain making his hands shake. He gasped as the stabbing sensation increased. Looking down, he saw that there was a spot on his chest, over his heart, that was bulging out, the skin stretched taut around something. Fear mingled with the pain, and he felt his heart begin to beat erratically.
“What the Hell is that?” Xander asked.
Something green poked through the skin on Jake’s chest and he screamed as the pain became nearly unbearable. Blood trickled down off of the green stem, staining his skin. But the pain was receding as he watched as the green stem began to...blossom? Like a nature film on fast-forward, a red flower began to grow, budding and blooming until it was a small red poppy, the color matching that of the blood that had been spilled.



Lily Luchesi is the USA Today bestselling author of The Paranormal Detectives Series, #1 bestselling Coven Series, and other paranormal tales. You can reach her via Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and her newsletter.

Faith Marlow is the USA Today bestselling author of the Being Mrs. Dracula series and other horror stories. You can reach her via Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and her newsletter.

Both authors are part of Vamptasy Publishing, an imprint of CHBB Publishing.

Friday, October 5, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "The Coven Heir" by Lily Luchesi


AVAILABLE NOW, FREE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED!



The Dark never dies.
One year after The Company of Clan Munro was defeated, things in the UK Coven are settling down, and also beginning to be shaken up.
The Princess, Harley Sinclair, is building her potion business and planning a wedding to James Quigley, while still taking lessons from her father, the Coven King.
Her younger half-brother, Nick Smith, is moving to London with three friends ... including Roger Ainsley, the son of the former leader of the Dark.
When a mysterious stranger appears back from the dead, his words of warning of another Dark Clan rising might change Nick and Harley's lives forever.
There's a deathwitch in the Coven, and she has her sights set on the Princess.


EXCERPT:

“Come. Mahon gave me the location of the grave I need to take samples from. Thank God it wasn't the one you just regurgitated your beer all over.”
They began to walk through the darkened cemetery, and he noticed how perfectly in place Harley looked with her long black cloak with batwing sleeves. She was the perfect picture of a storybook witch.
“Can you feel it?” she asked him, voice hushed. “The Darkness is getting stronger.”
Nick nodded. “The necromancer is getting stronger.”
They found the grave. It was across the lot from the four who had been risen before. There was a Wiccan pentagram at the top, with the inscription:
Caelum Serpens Lynx
22nd March - 31st October
Fortune favours the brave.
Harley was gaping at the headstone. “You have got to be joking!”
“That name sounds familiar,” Nick said, looking at the grave. The years listed said this guy was born the same year as his parents and had died during the battle that had killed them both as well.
Harley bent down and removed ampoules from her pocket. Nick had no idea where she kept those things while wearing such a tight dress and blazer under her cloak. She used a broken branch she found to scrape up some of the dirt and put it in one ampoule. She stepped back, held out her hand, and Nick saw green energy forming in the centre of her palm. Her father’s bloodline, Clan Munro, were energy manipulators which meant that she could attack people with her life force alone.
Praemium,” she cast, and the energy shot out of her palm and blasted the headstone into pieces. Methodically she sifted through the rubble and put a piece inside the second ampoule. She stood up and said, “All right, let’s go. You probably won’t vomit the second time around.”
Nick didn't respond, as he turned towards the nearby bushes and saw those eerie yellow eyes … staring right at him.

* * *

Harley couldn’t believe that Caelum Lynx was alive again. Who the Hell would want to raise him from the dead? He was rotten, but not in a supervillain way. He was a bully, cruel and malicious.
Let’s figure out what’s going on and get him right back in his grave where he belongs, she thought as she gathered the materials.
When she stood up and spoke to her brother, he didn't respond. He was staring straight ahead, eyes frozen in fear. She turned and saw why.
Deep in the bushes, glowing eyes stared at them both. The bushes moved, and out popped a sleek, large cat with black markings and tufts of black hair on its ears. Harley didn't know what it was, but she sensed magic.
The cat bounded closer, suddenly just a few yards away instead of metres and her nerves were singing. It wasn’t something that should’ve been loose in London. Perhaps it escaped the zoo? Still, she’d never dealt with anything like this. They should run, but it could easily overtake them and kill them. Best to stand still and see if it went away. If not, she’d try some spells on it.
However, her brother was in no rational position whatsoever. Fear had taken him prisoner.
“For crying out loud, Nick, get behind me!” she snapped, yanking him behind her. He was smaller than she was, so she shielded him fairly completely. She wasn’t a self-sacrificing person, but she had a natural instinct to protect someone currently incapable of protecting themselves. It was a bit of a problem, actually.
The large cat bounded even closer, hissing but not slobbering or foaming at the mouth. Harley was pretty sure it wasn’t rabid, but it was angry … and hungry. Its thick, golden fur was matted, torn away in some places, and it looked far too skinny.
“If it comes at us, run and get a head start,” she told Nick, who nodded weakly. Slowly, she removed her right hand from the pocket of her cloak. Holding her fist firmly at her side, she maintained eye contact with the beast. It was so close she could smell it: the thing needed to be bathed badly.
It looked almost as if it hated her. She knew that was madness, but it was true nonetheless as she looked in its glowing eyes.
Suddenly, it yowled and ran around them in a semicircle, going for Nick. For some unknown reason, it wanted him. Harley tossed her brother behind her again, holding her hand out.
Stupefaciunt!” she cast, but the beast dodged it, now heading for her. In the moment, staring into its snarling mouth and hate-filled eyes, she couldn’t recall the shielding spell to keep it off of her.
The cat knocked into her, almost as tall as she was when it was on its hind legs, and she struggled with it, keeping its fangs away from her neck.
Claws dug deeply into her left arm and she screamed in pain, somehow tossing the thing from her. Adrenaline rushed through her system as self-preservation kicked in.

It began to bound away, and she cast spells after it. One edge of her energy caught it on the tail, and she took pleasure in its pained yowls, as she tried to control her own pain. She was breathing hard, and her heart was beating out of control.

Thursday, September 20, 2018

COVER REVEAL: "The Coven Heir" by Lily Luchesi



Coming October 5th from USA TODAY Bestselling author Lily Luchesi and Vamptasy Publishing!




The Dark never dies.
One year after The Company of Clan Munro was defeated, things in the UK Coven are settling down, and also beginning to be shaken up.
The Princess, Harley Sinclair, is building her potion business and planning a wedding to James Quigley, while still taking lessons from her father, the Coven King.
Her younger half-brother, Nick Smith, is moving to London with three friends ... including Roger Ainsley, the son of the former leader of the Dark.
When a mysterious stranger appears back from the dead, his words of warning of another Dark Clan rising might change Nick and Harley's lives forever.
There's a deathwitch in the Coven, and she has her sights set on the Princess.




Friday, August 10, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Bloodspell" (18+) by Lily Luchesi




Bloodspell
By USA Today bestselling author Lily Luchesi
Published by Encompass Ink
Edited by EAL Editing Services
Cover by Rue Volley with stock from Bigstock


Bound by an ancient prophecy, freed by love.

Mages have lived by a prophecy that states that once there are two mage houses left, one must kill the other to maintain a magical balance. But the prophecy is disrupted when a new mage is revealed and begins killing everyone in his path.
Simon Moonspell and Tobias Bloodworth, the last two mages of the ancient houses, must put their animosity aside in order to stop this new mage and fulfill the prophecy. However, when their hatred slowly turns to love, can they remain impartial or will they be forced to battle to the death?







EXCERPT:


Tobias scoffed, but he was smirking. “Well, there is a first time for everything, isn’t there?”
“Git.”
“Yes, I am, and I own it.” He stood up and stretched his legs. His coat was discarded, and he wore only a pair of black trousers and a white shirt. Simon noticed his nails were polished matte black. It was a nice touch … as was that gorgeous body.
“Once we find the prophecy and see if there is a way to circumvent it, we need to figure out where Thornhill is hiding and eradicate the bastard from existence,” he said with more vehemence than Simon had ever heard from him. “We have spent hundreds of years fulfilling this prophecy, upholding the names of our houses and the standards at which mages have always been held and he — he — ” Tobias trailed off in a huff. “Damn it,” he muttered. “Control, control.”
Simon stood up and walked behind Tobias. He placed a hand on his bony shoulder and said, “Hey, it’s okay. We’re going to kill him; we’ll make him pay for his crimes. I promise.”
Tobias’ skin was warm beneath his shirt and Simon wanted to melt right into him, to hold him from behind and —
Stop it, he scolded himself. For once my brain makes more sense than my body!
Tobias stood straighter and turned, dislodging Simon’s hand from his shoulder and breaking the moment. “Forgive me. I am not often like this.”
“There’s nothing to forgive. This is a lot of pressure, mate,” Simon said. “We never really discussed it but … if there is no way to change the prophecy…”
“Then one of us must kill the other. Yes, I am familiar with it,” Tobias snapped.
“You don’t want to kill me?” Simon asked, confused. He always assumed that Tobias would relish the chance to kill him and make it hurt after how he’d treated him when they were children.
“No, despite my sour disposition, I am not a particular fan of murder,” he said. “And you? Were you relishing the idea of finally getting rid of the pesky little brat you used to knock over on the playground?”
Simon felt sick. Had he really hurt Tobias so much that those beautiful black eyes were filling with moisture? “No… I — I’m sorry,” he said, head hanging. “I was a stupid kid. I never wanted to hurt you, not really. And I don’t want to kill you.”
“Then let’s do what mages do best, shall we? Create a solution to a magical problem.”
Tobias acted as though he hadn’t just been on the verge of some sort of breakdown as he gave Simon a translator and they began looking for the prophecy again.
It wasn’t until late that night as Simon was starting to fall asleep that he heard Tobias exclaim, “I’ve got it!”
Simon nearly fell out of his chair from the shock. He had never heard the reserved man shout so loudly. “W-what?”
“The prophecy, you imbecile! I found it! And it’s already translated for us.”
“Well? What’s it say?” Simon asked, going to stand at his side. He could feel the heat from his skin, smell an earthy shampoo that was just so … Tobias. It was enough to send his libido into overdrive as if he was a teenager again.
“Here.” Tobias angled the book so that Simon could see.

“Here we stand with mages uncountable, in the age where magic is new. They will create and make the future, spells all shall use. But one by one the houses must fall; as magic expands, they must recede. Until one day only one house name shall remain of the mighty mages, lasting for eternity in history. On the day that two remain, one must make the deciding blow and concede their name. Only one name can remain. The balance of magic must be maintained, and so it has been said, so shall it be.”





ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


Lily Luchesi is the USA Today bestselling and award-winning author of the Paranormal Detectives Series, published by Vamptasy Publishing. She also has short stories included in multiple bestselling anthologies, and a successful dark erotica retelling of Dracula. She is also the editor, curator and contributing author of Vamptasy Publishing's Damsels of Distress anthology, which celebrates strong female characters in horror and paranormal fiction. She was born in Chicago, Illinois, and now resides in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle. She is also an out member of the LGBT+ community. When she's not writing, she's going to rock concerts, getting tattooed, watching the CW, or reading manga. And drinking copious amounts of coffee.

www.facebook.com/LilyLuchesi


http://amazon.com/author/lilyluchesi
www.twitter.com/LilyLuchesi


www.instagram.com/lilyluchesi

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7369101.Lily_Luchesi



https://www.authorgraph.com/authors/LilyLuchesi (have your e-books autographed!)

Friday, July 13, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ + BOOK REVIEW: "Race & Roll" by Piper Kay





•.¸(*•.¸(*•.¸´NEW RELEASE✰¸.•*´)¸.•*´)¸.•
✰✰✰BY PIPER KAY✰✰✰

Jett loves to play hard and race harder, but has issues. The love of his life, Logan, disappeared five years ago, but suddenly reappears. Will they crash and burn? Is it even real? Or is he just in for wishful thinking?




INTERVIEW WITH THE AUTHOR:




1. When/why did you decide to become a writer? *

I always said I would, and got laughed at for chasing a dream I could never be by some very close family members, so I did it to prove a point. Plus the characters in my head wouldn't behave themselves or let me sleep. 

2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today? *

Too many to name. I guess I started writing after reading Ann Rice's stuff, she is wonderful. I love reading MM, PRN type stuff

3. What was the inspiration behind your latest release? *

A dream. I grew up with mostly male cousins, I was the only girl for 20 years and learned about racing and how to work on cars. The characters just let the way in this one, like most of my stories, so I ran with it.

4. Were any of the characters personalities or emotions taken from real life? *

Of course, we all put a little bit of ourselves into a book. Or take something from someone we know. My whole life can be told if you can figure out which parts through each story. You'll learn my favorite color down to someone's death and all the history in between.

5. Why do you write in your chosen genre? What other genres would you like to try your hand at? *

I would love to write paranormal, but I don't have the gift. I chose to write in the MM genre because I was told early on that I write in a masculine voice and to give it a try. I did and love it.

6. What would you do if you were your main character? *

Get laid a lot. LOL Kidding! I would be a fighter, one that fights for what they believe and follows their heart just like I do now.

7. Will we ever see these characters again? *

Never say never

8. Would you like to see this book as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to see play your characters? *

That would be awesome. I'd have to do some research to pick actors though, but have several personal choices of people I actually know I could pick from.

9. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

Writing and watching people. I love people watching.

10. Is there anything you haven't touched on that you'd like readers to know about your book? *

I just hope it shows that true love is out there, you just have to get through situations.

11. What would you be doing if you weren't writing? *

Going bat-shit crazy

12. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next? *

Next up, a story called Glorious Disaster, and talk bout a train wreck. I love it. Plus several others.

13. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with? *

Author Poppet and Ann Lister

14. What are three things that may surprise your readers to know about you? *

1) I'm shy 2) I'm really a blonde 3) I'm a widow
[KSR would like to inform you that she is NOT shy. "You Keep Using That Word, I Do Not Think It Means What You Think It Means".]

15. Please list your links where readers can find you online and purchase your works. *

Amazon author page: http://amazon.com/author/piperkay
Website: piperkay-author.com
Newsletter: https://shoutout.wix.com/so/dM6b2MfM…
FB: https://www.facebook.com/piper.kay.1
MeWe: mewe.com/i/piper.kay
Twitter: https://twitter.com/PiperKayAuthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6613775.Piper_Kay
Authograph: https://www.authorgraph.com/authors/PiperKayAuthor
Google: https://google.com/+PiperKay
Blog: www.piperkayauthor.com
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChQcM-y0AvDtn6YO9PY7lxg
Instagram: http://instagram.com/piperkay.author
Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/piper-kay-4967a995/
Tumblr: https://piperkay.tumblr.com/


BOOK REVIEW:


Race & Roll is probably the shortest thing I've read this year that gave me so many feels. It's a quick, 20 minute read, but it gives you the entire story without seeming like you got cheated on the full background of the characters.
Jett and Logan are at once likable and relatable. The love between them is tangible, and you feel a knot in your gut when Jett is lamenting on his former lover.
Short, sweet, and to the point, anyone who loves second chance romances but doesn't have the time for a full novel should pick this up right away!

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Shades of Fae" Boxed Set

Title: Shades of Fae
Genre: Urban Fantasy & Paranormal Romance
Publication Date: July 10th, 2018
Hosted by: Lady Amber’s PR
Blurb:
Not every fairytale has a happily ever after.
We only know three things about the Fae: They don't lie, they cheat. What they aren't given, they take. And if they can't rule...they conquer. Now the fate of humanity lies in a battle between good and evil where lines are not easily drawn.
Time travel to 19th century France, brave the gritty streets of New York City, or enter the realm of the Fae itself in this darkly enchanting collection from today's hottest USA Today, award-winning, and international bestselling paranormal and fantasy authors.
Shades of Fae is your ticket to a mystical realm where Sinister Sidhe and Dark Elves manipulate mortals, vengeful fae warriors battle nefarious vampire lords, and an apocalypse rife with werewolves, dragons, nymphs, banshees, shifters, and supernatural hunters brings unparalleled danger.
In 2018... The Fae are Coming...
Find out who survives and who dies when you order Shades of Fae TODAY!
Participating Authors:
USA Today bestselling author CK Dawn
USA Today bestselling author Shawnee Small
USA Today bestselling authors Cheri Schmidt & Tristan Hunt
Elle Boon
USA Today bestselling author Pauline Creeden
Award-winning author Tameri Etherton
Award-winning author Cyndi Faria
USA Today bestselling author Isadora Brown
USA Today bestselling author Amy L. Gale
USA Today bestselling author Charlene A. Wilson
USA Today bestselling author Katalina Leon
USA Today bestselling author J.A. Armitage
USA Today bestselling authors Megan J. Parker & Nathan Squiers
Lynda Kaye Frazier
Kim Carmichael
Colleen Halverson
Danielle Rose
Lynda Haviland
Dyan Chick
Award-winning author Cate Rowan
Award-winning author JB Michaels
R.S. Broadhead
Jen L. Grey writing with Heather Renee
Buy Links:

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

BOOK REVIEW + AUTHOR INTERVIEW: "Midsummer's Bottom" by Darren Dash


The Midsummer Players stage an outdoor version of A Midsummer Night's Dream every year on Midsummer's Eve, in a glade in a forest. The actors have a wonderful time, even though they’re dreadful. Audience members appreciate the effort they put in and applaud politely, but almost never attend more than once. Except for... 
...the fey folk! 
All of the fairies named in the play are obliged to attend every performance, due to a deal that they struck back in the day with a mischievous Master Shakespeare. In an attempt to disband the irksome Midsummer Players on the eve of their twentieth anniversary, Oberon and Puck hire a human agent of chaos to infiltrate the actors' ranks and set them against one another by focusing on secret attractions and grudges that have been lying dormant up to now. Sparks will fly, and everyone will come to blows, but it's all executed with a wink and a grin, and there will be more smiles than tears by the end. At least, that’s the plan... 
Inspired by the Bard's immortal play (which it also weaves into its plot), this light-hearted Comedy is a novel in the spirit of the movies Smiles Of A Summer Night and A Midsummer Night's Sex Comedy, and the musical A Little Night Music. For lovers of Shakespeare, chaos and fairies everywhere.


I received an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.


By now, I should be used to receiving surprises once I open my Kindle to a new Darren Dash book. Right? But when I opened my email and saw that this book was to be derived from Shakespeare and comedic in nature, I admit even I scratched my head a little. Dash's three previous literary offerings have been horrific in their own way, despite being different genres, so what was I to expect from a comedy?
Frankly, combining Dash and Shakespeare (both childhood favorites of mine), would make me want to dive right in, and so I did.
It starts out with Del Chapman, the aforementioned human agent of chaos. He sets the tone by sending out a computer virus through an entire company's computer system, destroying it for fun. He then steals a car and goes joyriding. It's only when he crashes said car near a glade in Limerick, Ireland that things start to get weird.
The fairy Puck rescues him ... but he wants something in return. Del must infiltrate an amateur showing of A Midsummer Night's Dream and destroy it so that the humans never, ever perform it together again.
Enter ... everyone else. The rest of the characters are made up of a middle-aged married couple, a beautiful young actress, a romance novelist and her new husband, a gay DJ and his boyfriend, and a shy banker. It's not a super large cast, but their backstories and issues mean you really need to pay attention to remember who is who, who's sleeping with whom, and who wants to sleep with whom.
This book is highly adult in nature, so anyone under 18 might want to shelve this till their next birthday.
The story, while occasionally venturing into Feyland and getting highly fantastical, is a hyper-realistic tale of humanity. There is cheating, discovering one's sexuality, blossoming romance, sex-for-opportunity, body image issues, secrets, lies, and so much more than I ever expected to find in less than 500 pages about amateur actors in Ireland.
You get this intricate, stripped bare look at humanity. There are no frills in this story. It's all right there, in your face. Dealing with weight, age, infidelity, identity, and the truth so dark you need a floodlight to see it properly. It's funny, yes. Some things had me actually laugh out loud. But this is darker than it seems on the surface, and about so much more than fairies wanting an acting troupe disbanded.
Anna and Nuala are by far my favorite characters, but everyone had an endearing quality about them (even Terrence, whom I wanted to slap more than once), especially Finn, the changeling from Feyland. We got to see him assimilate to the human world, and alternately, we got glimpses of Diarmid, a human, learn to love Feyland. Those moments of them discovering these new worlds and falling in love with them were truly some of the most shining moments of the book. The scenes are filled with sweet wonder, little pockets of light amidst the chaos of the main story.
I loved the diversity. Bisexual, gay, questioning, straight, cross-dressing: there was a little of everything in this small cast, and the representation without shame, without it feeling forced, was wonderful.
The best thing about Dash's writing is how well he writes people. You never get the same character twice, and every single one is handcrafted, unique, endearing. He has a talent for making characters feel like they're real, like you know them and care about them. I don't know how he does it; maybe he has a little bit of Puck's influence in him, like the Bard did so long ago.
As always, I end my review by telling you that you need to buy this book. Why? Not because I am a longtime fan of his, but because this book rocks. I don't care if the name on the cover was Joe Blow, this story should be read by pretty much any human over the age of 18, because it literally has something for everyone, a character to relate to or sympathize with.
While it isn't my favorite Dash book (An Other Place still holds that title), A Midsummer's Bottom is engaging, humorous, and intricately woven to grip you and take you straight to a beautiful green glade in Limerick.
Another brilliant offering from Dash!

5/5 Stars!





EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH DARREN DASH:


  • Midsummer's Bottom is obviously based around the famed Shakespeare play. What is your favorite work by the Bard and why?
    Well, I kind of have to say A Midsummer Night's Dream or the fairies will come and attack me! But in truth my opinion changes over the years, based on the quality of different productions, the mood I'm in when I watch them, etc. I love King Lear, but I've seen a couple of dull enough productions of it. Hamlet is, of course, majestic, but I'm giving it a wide berth at the moment, as I saw several versions of it in a relatively short period of time and I've overdosed on it. One of the ones that really stands out for me is The Tempest. I saw a local (Limerick) production of it many years ago, where they completely converted a theatre, and it was my first exposure to what theatre can be in the right hands, where it becomes an immersive experience rather than something you just sit back and watch. The players - the Island Theatre Company - also put on A Midsummer Night's Dream a year or two later, and it was that production that led me to write Midsummer's Bottom -- their version was slickly presented and very professional and funny, but I came away from it wondering what might happen if a bad set of players got their hands on the play, and Midsummer's Bottom is the result of those musings.
  • The cast is amazingly diverse, even by today's standards. Who is your favorite, least favorite, and why?
    Finn (a human changeling who has been raised by the fairies in Feyland and comes to Earth for the first time in the book) was the most fun to write. I've always enjoyed comedies where fish-out-of-water get to experience our world and society, e.g. Star Trek IV, or a brilliant 1970s film called Being There. It allows us, the readers or viewers, to see ourselves through different eyes and chuckle at what ludicrous creatures we are. I didn't have a least favourite character -- I tried to devote roughly equal time to all the main members of the cast, and I felt attached to them all. They're a bunch of bumbling fools, for the most part, but my plan wasn't to be cruel and write a book where readers would laugh at the dunderheads in it -- my point (which Shakespeare was always keen to remind us in his plays, and especially his Comedies) is that we're all fools in our own ways, exactly like the actors in Midsummer's Bottom, and we should celebrate and laugh at our foolishness.
  • If you could visit Feyland, would you?
    Are you kidding? I'd be over there in a heartbeat if I had the chance! Like Del in the book, I don't think it's a place I'd want to linger too long - I like the chaos and foolish uncertainty of our world - but I'd certainly love to spend a short vacation there, if only to see what the Hairy Mountain that I mention in the book looks like!
  • If you could sit down and meet any of the characters in the book, who would it be and what would you do/talk about?
    Hmm... While I'd love to name-check one of my own creations here, a certain bard from Stratford makes a cameo appearance in Midsummer's Bottom late on in the book, and how could any writer not want to sit down with the shade of Will Shakespeare and quiz him about his incredible works? (As an aside, the character of Shakespeare has my favourite line in the entire book, when he comments on his (in)famous use of iambic pentameter...)
  • You've written about many mythological and paranormal creatures during your career as both Darren Dash and Darren Shan. What creature have you yet to tackle in a book and want to?
    To be honest, I don't have a bucket list of monsters. I'm always far more interested in telling a good story than I am in writing about specific creatures. I don't look for stories to go with monsters -- I look for good story ideas first, then start wondering what sort of creatures might best fit them.
  • If you were Del, contacted by Puck, would you agree to do as he wished and ruin the play? If yes, would you do anything differently than he did?
    Del is pretty much my avatar in the book, so I'd have done everything much the same as he did. As for ruining the play... his aim was never to just wreck it, but to elevate it to a point of such ridiculousness that it would actually become an engaging work of wonder on its own terms. Like Del, I'm all for creating great art out of chaos!
  • Last, if you had the ability to make Puck the fairy cause mischief for anyone, anywhere in the world, who would you sic him on?
    Anyone who, likes the actors in the book, takes themselves too seriously. We humans are silly things, and we should never forget that, or frown upon mere silliness. I like to think that if Puck really existed, he would be like The A-Team -- "If you know an anally retentive stick-in-the-mud, if no one else can make them smile, and if you can find him, maybe you can hire... Puck!"