Tuesday, August 30, 2016

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: TL Travis






1. When/why did you decide to become a writer? *

About 7 years ago I started writing. January of 2016 I started doing it full time.

2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today? *

Anne Rice probably started it all for me. Now I read just about anything erotica and Vampire related.

3. What was the inspiration behind your latest release? *

The lack of enjoyment in Vampires that sparkle and don't have sex. The sexual allure of a Vampire is a big selling point for me.

4. Were any of the characters personalities or emotions taken from real life? *

Yes...

5. Why do you write in your chosen genre? What other genres would you like to try your hand at? *

Write what you read and read what you write. Which for me is erotica and paranormal.
6. What would you do if you were your main character? *

Pollinate and feed from every delectable flower I came across.
7. Will we ever see these characters again? *

Yes...
8. Would you like to see this book as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to see play your characters? *

Film for sure. Problem is it would probably be a porno.
9. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

Hopefully sitting on a beach sipping adult beverages writing about my cabana boy.

10. Is there anything you haven't touched on that you'd like readers to know about your book? *

Be very open sexually. I hit just about every sexual taboo in The Sebastian Chronicles.

11. What would you be doing if you weren't writing? *

Managing construction crews.

12. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next? *

4 stand alone erotic novelettes, an erotic paranormal trilogy and ghost writing a book for another.

13. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with? *

Bram Stoker.

14. What are three things that may surprise your readers to know about you? *

I'm a grandmother, avid Disney collector and I love to fish.

Friday, August 26, 2016

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Lexi Ostrow







1. When/why did you decide to become a writer? *

There was never a doubt for me, that I wanted to be like the great authors I was reading when I was 7 (Rl Stine being a big one), I just knew I wanted to tell stories and bring enjoyment to people too. I first wrote a short story that was "published" through a state contest in 2nd grade.
2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today? *

RL Stine, Christopher Pike, Sherrilyn Kenyon and Gena Showalter. I did start the adult books young, but my favorites today are Heather Graham and Larissa Ione.
3. What was the inspiration behind your latest release? *

I can't say inspiration existed for Angels in Steam tbh. My hero, Layel, was upset watching his fighters get their happy ending while he was related to a back seat. He kept invading my dreams and pushing me until I finally couldn't handle the images of him and Nathaniel only being in my head any longer.
4. Were any of the characters personalities or emotions taken from real life? *

Not in this novel. However, when I first started writing I know that Ciara from Torn Between Two Worlds, and Eliza from Nightmare in Steam are very much me. I know that's such a "no-no" in the author world but I couldn't help the way my likes and dislikes bled into the characters because of how much I envied their journey!
5. Why do you write in your chosen genre? What other genres would you like to try your hand at? *

I don't think there is a reason I write in my genre besides that is the world my muse lives in. I don't try to select a genre, I just roll with it when a story shows itself to me. Most of my work is various subgenres of romance, but I also have adventure and YA stories. I would like to have a high fantasy type series, for my baby boy to read when he's older, but it's a little hard for me to stay on task world building when all I want to do is race off and ride dragons with my characters. ;)
6. What would you do if you were your main character? *

A lot of really good sex :D Just kidding, I think it would be amazing to be any of my Word Speakers - specifically Ciara or Dale that can world walk. I can't imagine anything better than slipping into the pages of my favorite books and living in their worlds.
7. Will we ever see these characters again? *

My books typically all run in series, with each book being a complete story within the arc of the series. So, they're always in novels past their own, with the exception being my standalone military romance series.
8. Would you like to see this book as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to see play your characters? *

Oh my gosh I think I would die if any of my books could be on the big screen, though I don't think my latest release is a good fit. Male/Male might be rocking in the book world, but it's still not a strong tv or film genre.
9. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

Hopefully touching readers through the wonders of their imagination and still loving to write.
10. Is there anything you haven't touched on that you'd like readers to know about your book? *

I'd love for them to know that every book is just another possibility to dream - not just my works, but all books.
11. What would you be doing if you weren't writing? *

Reading :D But seriously, I'd love more than anything to work marketing for an animal shelter and help find people for the amazing animals without them.
12. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next? *

I'm almost done with the final book in my Christmas romance series - The Instructor's Christmas Wish. It is by far my most romantic and I'm in shock at how the main characters are with each other, despite knowing they would be together from the first book.
13. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with? *

Too many! Haha. I would have to say Larissa Ione if I had to pick only one. Her Demonica/LOD series is one of the most amazing I've ever had the joy to read and her husband is a Coastie too!
14. What are three things that may surprise your readers to know about you? *

1. I don't read the romance scenes in other novels. I know, it sounds bad but despite writing sexy scenes, I don't enjoy reading them. 2. I'm a major foodie. It might come across a little bit because of my Hello Fresh meals, but the struggle is real LOL. I could eat 6 full meals a day if it meant trying delicious new places. 3.When I was younger my first story was about a talking snowflake that made a friend before she melted . . . I think my brain's always been a little different. :D
15. Please list your links where readers can find you online and purchase your works. *

www.lexiostrow.com or find me on Facbeook - http://facebook.com/lexiauthor

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

AUTHOR INTERVIEW: Maggie Decker







1. When/why did you decide to become a writer? *

I can't Not write. I remember writing my first imagined story when I was just 6 or 7. My mind was just too filled with ideas and I was supposed to be being quiet. So without anyone to tell my "imagine ifs" to, I grabbed a pencil and paper and wrote.


2. What authors inspired you when you were younger? What books do you enjoy reading today? *

I learned to read with the Oz books. So much imagination. Then I read the Little house books and discovered I liked history too. These days I love books that make me feel like anything is possible and that the little guy might be cooler than everyone thought. Plus vamps and weres. Ya, they flip my switch.


3. What was the inspiration behind your latest release? *

I was stuck watching a teen vamp movies with my kids. I just kept thinking "why should she chose just one?" So I wrote a story in which my MC doesn't have to chose between guys. Plus, she's a chubby baker that'll kick butt when needed.


4. Were any of the characters personalities or emotions taken from real life? *

Definitely. My MC had trauma and loss that I pulled from my own life. Also she is a snarky chic that likes to take care of people but might cut you if you hurt a person she loves. I relate.


5. Why do you write in your chosen genre? What other genres would you like to try your hand at? *

I love the paranormal. It makes my imagination soar. Werewolves and vamps and fairies are hot.
I am currently writing a science fiction piece about time travel, who knows if it will ever see the light of day, but it's there for me when the muse calls.


6. What would you do if you were your main character? *

Stay in bed for a month with my mates, for starters. I think other than that I would keep investigating and searching for answers. There is something amiss and it's affecting everyone she loves and cares for, and plenty of people she's not yet met.


7. Will we ever see these characters again? *

Oh definitely. Book 2,3, and 4 have all been started. This mystery will be solved.


8. Would you like to see this book as a film or TV show? If yes, who do you want to see play your characters? *

That would be great! I think Holland Roden might work for my MC. For the men, hmmm, Alexander Skarsgard for Ben and Jai Courtney for Adam. That might not be perfect, but they are all so pretty it'd be forgiven right?


9. Where do you see yourself and your career in the next ten years?

Hopefully finishing up the Hidden Pack series and releasing the yet untitled fairy series that's floating around in my head.


10. Is there anything you haven't touched on that you'd like readers to know about your book? *

These characters aren't bubblegum. They have emotions and problems and pain. Things have happened and are happening to them. They don't have everything figured out perfectly, but they are trying. Just like all of us.


11. What would you be doing if you weren't writing? *

Probably still working at the phone company.


12. Can you tell KSR what you're working on next? *

Book 2 is coming, it's about her Beta that you meet at the end of this book. Of course I'm also working on Argies story and also another minor character from book one, Judy, woke me up in the middle of the night telling me she wasn't as insignificant as I'd previously thought.


13. What authors, dead or alive, would you like to collaborate with? *

Poe, Laurell K Hamilton, Angelou, and Lora Leigh.


14. What are three things that may surprise your readers to know about you? *

I'm addicted to books. I read ANYTHING.
I am petrified of birds, evil chirping beasts.
I have wanderlust. I hate being anywhere for more than 2-3 years.


15. Please list your links where readers can find you online and purchase your works. *

http://smarturl.it/JustDessert
Facebook.com/maggiedecker

Sunday, August 14, 2016

RELEASE TOUR: "Rebound Revival" by Jerica MacMillan





Rebound Revival

Book 3 in the Rebound Series

Jerica MacMillan

Contemporary Romance


Release Date: July 25, 2016


Blurb


What do you do when your one-night stand turns out to be your new boss?

 
Cate's been burned by her cheating ex-boyfriend, and runs away to a small town in southeastern Washington to avoid seeing him ever again.  Her first night in town she's swept away by a sexy stranger and gets treated to the best night of her life, only to find out he owns the vineyard where she's the new events coordinator.

Max, disappointed that Cate didn't call after their night together, is thrilled to run into her again, even if it is at work.  Intrigued by this beautiful, self-contained woman, he is determined to draw her out of her shell and get her to open up to him outside of the bedroom as well as inside.  

Will Max be able to overcome Cate's distrust?  Or will her ex's infidelity make it impossible for her to trust a man again?







iBooks

Amazon

B&N

Kobo



Excerpt

My question dies before it finishes when I realize Max is right there.  He pulls the drinks out of my hands and sets them on the counter at my back without a word.  His hands return to my hips where he pulls me against him, his mouth coming down on mine once more.  

This.  This is what I expected in the hallway.  His mouth is firm and demanding, and he nips at my lower lip with his teeth.  With a gasp at the unexpected sting my mouth opens, and his tongue sweeps in.  He tastes like strawberries.  

His hands run up my back under my shirt, kneading and caressing my skin.  I'm swept away by him, by his kiss, by his commanding presence, and it seems like all I can do to hold on, my fists clutching his shirt my only anchor.  

He breaks away from my mouth and runs his lips down my jaw to my neck, biting and sucking at the place where my neck meets my shoulder.  I shrug my shoulder to discourage that.  It feels good, but I don't want a hickey.  I'm twenty-two for God's sake, not a teenager in the first throes of lust.  I didn't even let boys give me hickeys then, especially not with two older brothers watching all the guys who were interested in me.  

Max raises his head, a wicked grin on his lips and mischief dancing in his eyes.  Before I can react he lifts my tank top, and my arms raise to help him strip it off me.  He tosses it to the side, his eyes on my breasts.  I look down and realize I'm wearing the most boring bra imaginable—beige cotton with zero decoration.  It's not like I expected to show off my lingerie for anyone today.
I open my mouth to explain away the bra choice, nerves getting the better of me. Before I can say anything he traces one finger along the edge of the cup.  “You’re beautiful, Cate.”

I guess boring lingerie doesn't faze Max.  Both hands come up and cup my breasts.  His large hands engulf them, the upper curve just spilling over his grip.  He circles my nipples with his thumbs, bringing them to attention, absorbed by what he's doing to me.  

He tugs one cup aside to expose my now-hard nipple.  Bending down, he takes it in his mouth and sucks deep, a groan rumbling in his chest.  I can't stifle the gasp that escapes from my mouth, and I clutch at the counter behind me so I don't fall from the sensation.

His hands reach behind me to unhook my bra, and he stands up so he can pull the straps down my arms, letting it fall to the floor at our feet.  His eyes flick up to my face for a moment to check in with me, and he leads me by the hand to the bed.  Sitting on the edge, he brings me to stand between his legs.  “So beautiful.” His hands run up my torso and caress my breasts, teasing the nipples, sliding to my back to bring me closer so his mouth can play with them some more.  In this position his head is at the perfect height to reach my breasts.  The longer he plays, the weaker my legs get, and I clutch at his shoulders so I don't fall, his hands on my ass holding me up.


Other Books in this Series




  Jenna just needs a little rebound therapy ...

 
 Jenna is still stuck in her grief a year after her fiancĂ© died in a tragic accident. She exists, going through the motions of living, her former spark gone.  Her best friend Amy drags her out to meet someone, convinced she needs a rebound guy to have some fun and start living again.

Brian is the hot owner of the wine bar where Amy takes Jenna.  He has a mischievous grin that he wields like a weapon to convince Jenna to give him a chance.

Will his love be enough to pull Jenna out of her grief so she can learn to live and love again?
  
Available FREE on all major retailers!
  
iBooks   Amazon   B&N   Kobo



 
 


Always the bridesmaid ...

Amy's best friend Jenna is engaged ... again.  And she's asked Amy to be her maid of honor.  Amy can't help but feel jealous that Jenna's ready to walk down the aisle for the second time, especially when her own love life is virtually nonexistent.

Adam has wanted Amy since she first walked into his wine bar.  After he finally got the chance to take her out, problems from his past got in the way.  Now she's dating someone else, and he's jealous of the lost opportunity.

Will Adam and Amy work out the issues from the past and present that are keeping them apart?  Or will their jealousies ruin their relationships and keep them apart forever?

Join my Book Club and get a FREE copy!

iBooks   Amazon   B&N   Kobo








About Jerica MacMillan

Jerica MacMillan is a lifelong reader and lover of romance.  Nothing beats escaping into a book and watching people fall in love, overcome obstacles, and find their happily ever after.  She was recently named a semi finalist in Harlequin's So You Think You Can Write competition.

Jerica is living her happily ever after in North Idaho with her husband and two children.  She spends her days building with blocks, admiring preschooler artwork, and writing while her baby naps in the sling.  Join her Book Club at www.jericamacmillan.com and get a free book!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, August 9, 2016

BOOK REVIEW: "Angels In Steam" by Lexi Ostrow


Layel has been the stoic leader of the Pure Angels since before he can remember. His life has been a series of temptations, all of which he'd barely maintained his wings over. Joining forces with the Alliance of Silver and Steam had only continued to push and test him. 
Nathaniel's wings are turning black.He'd murdered an innocent human that had happened upon him during a rainstorm. In his horror at what he'd done, he'd turned himself into the Alliance, with a death wish. 
When Layel is brought in to help a falling Angel remain Pure, he isn't ready for Nathaniel. Helping an Angel rise is nearly impossible, but they're attraction to each other might make the journey even harder.


I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So, prior to this novella I have only read Ostrow's Torn Between Two Worlds. This is my first of her Steam series I have read and I now am ready to add the rest of these to my TBR list.
Usually I have a problem with mixing genres: this mixes M/M erotica with steampunk and paranormal. Instead of making me want to pull my hair in frustration, I was so dragged into this short book that I was angry when it ended!
The characters are night and day. I am not a "white knight" kind of girl, so Layel wasn't my favorite. Nathaniel, now, he's definitely a book crush for me. He tempts and taunts Layel to the breaking point, while remaining a sympathetic, lovable character.
The plot is straightforward and written in a way that, though the HEA is expected, you're not bored. You are swept up into this emotional fantasyland.
A really fun, short read that will make any newcomers want to dive right into this series. It's not just sex and romance. There is so much more here.

Purchase Angels In Steam via Amazon!

BOOK REVIEW: "Angels In Steam" by Lexi Ostrow


Layel has been the stoic leader of the Pure Angels since before he can remember. His life has been a series of temptations, all of which he'd barely maintained his wings over. Joining forces with the Alliance of Silver and Steam had only continued to push and test him. 
Nathaniel's wings are turning black.He'd murdered an innocent human that had happened upon him during a rainstorm. In his horror at what he'd done, he'd turned himself into the Alliance, with a death wish. 
When Layel is brought in to help a falling Angel remain Pure, he isn't ready for Nathaniel. Helping an Angel rise is nearly impossible, but they're attraction to each other might make the journey even harder.


I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So, prior to this novella I have only read Ostrow's Torn Between Two Worlds. This is my first of her Steam series I have read and I now am ready to add the rest of these to my TBR list.
Usually I have a problem with mixing genres: this mixes M/M erotica with steampunk and paranormal. Instead of making me want to pull my hair in frustration, I was so dragged into this short book that I was angry when it ended!
The characters are night and day. I am not a "white knight" kind of girl, so Layel wasn't my favorite. Nathaniel, now, he's definitely a book crush for me. He tempts and taunts Layel to the breaking point, while remaining a sympathetic, lovable character.
The plot is straightforward and written in a way that, though the HEA is expected, you're not bored. You are swept up into this emotional fantasyland.
A really fun, short read that will make any newcomers want to dive right into this series. It's not just sex and romance. There is so much more here.

Purchase Angels In Steam via Amazon!

Monday, August 8, 2016

RELEASE DAY + BOOK REVIEW: "Inimicus" by T.H. Morris


“Scius is the obvious enemy. Inimicus is the enemy that you don’t know you don’t know. The one you’d never see coming in a million lifetimes.” 
That was what Jonah was told. 
And now, he knows Inimicus is in the game. His unseen enemy is prowling through the shadows, making moves that no one can predict or prevent, and armed with a weapon more dangerous than any ethereal blade or staff: anonymity. 
Jonah thought he had ventured into uncharted waters before, but the past was nothing compared to this. In the past, the enemies were known. Now, no amount of power can help you fight an enemy that you “don’t know you don’t know.” 
In this latest installment in The 11th Percent Series, loyalties will be tested. People will lose sight of what’s truly important. The line between friend and enemy will get blurred. And the question everyone’s mind is also the same one that holds the difference between victory and downfall: Who can you trust? 


I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So by now you all know that I am a fan of Morris' books. This series has so much going for it, after the last book I doubted it could get better. So, I was wrong. It's not better, it's miles above what Morris has released so far.
I am a plot person. I've seen great characters ruined by a mediocre plot, and vice versa. Inimicus and its predecessors have both, but the characters have always been a bit better than the plot, for me. In this book, the plot is so engrossing, I only stopped reading when my Kindle battery died. If you read the books in order (and I recommend it, though it is easy to follow the story even if you don't read them in order), you can tell how far the author has come with his writing skills.
I was left in doubt, trying to puzzle this book out as I read, hanging on everything Jonah said and the narrative described. To say this is the best book in the series yet is an understatement.
I love every character, even the villains are so intriguing in the way they are written. This should be on every paranormal/horror fan's TBR list.

5/5--brilliant!

Purchase Inimicus on Amazon!

BOOK REVIEW: "Sowing" by Angie Grigaliunas


People are dead, slaughtered like animals in the night. The reigning power, the Hulcondans, blame rebels. Rabreah, a rebel, knows it’s a lie. Her younger sister, Ariliah, doesn’t; like the majority of the townspeople, she believes those in authority, swallowing their words with complete trust. Besides, she’s too busy fighting her own silent war at home. While Rabreah dedicates herself to truth and freedom, Ariliah is just trying to survive their mother’s abuse. But as unknown forces threaten to rip their world apart, the line between friend and enemy blurs. All is not as it seems. In fact, nothing may be.

I received an ARC copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

So, I am particular on what dystopian fantasy I read, because the genre has become overcrowded recently and the last thing I want to do is waste my time with copies of The Hunger Games. And despite the main characters being sisters, that is the only similarity this book has the THG or ANY of the dystopian books you've read lately.
We start out with Rabreah and her little sister Ariliah. Rabreah is a tough girl, a rebel, protecting her sister as much as she can from the abuse Ariliah has received. Rab is a great, strong female lead who has, perhaps, a few flaws. Like her insistence not to trust any man again after getting her heart broken. Rab, at times, reminded me of the person I was a few years ago, the person I now look back on and despise. She's a bit too hardheaded, too opinionated. As the book went on, I liked her sister better than I liked her.
No surprise to me, I kind of fell a little in love with Masrekah. He's a sarcastic little bastard, and I really hope to one day see a book from his POV. I know his story has got to be deep and I am eager to learn more about him.
The plot was fast moving, though there is a bit of an information dump at the beginning. You want to see these characters succeed, you find yourself quickly turning pages on your Kindle (or paperback) to see what happens next.
This is a wonderful world Angie has created, and I can't wait to see where she takes these unique characters. Despite their flaws, they are so three-dimensional, I feel as though I know them.

5/5--a wonderful start!

Purchase Sowing via Amazon.

Thursday, August 4, 2016

BOOK REVIEW: "Harry Potter And The Cursed Child" by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne


Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.
It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

I purchased this book from Barnes And Noble Booksellers.

THIS REVIEW IS SPOILER-FREE
So, let me begin by saying that I only read the HP series this year. Yes, at twenty-two years old, I dove headfirst into the Wizarding World and have not looked back since. It's a magical place where I felt a myriad of emotions, discovered deeper things than any YA book I'd ever read showed me, and found new characters to love.
That being said, I was so worried that The Cursed Child would be a huge disappointment. When it takes an author years to bring about new material, there's always the concern of "did she do this for the money" and "will it let me down after the rest of the series was so epic". My questions were answered by the time I was halfway done with The Cursed Child.
First, let me say that, for those who might still be confused, this is the play script. It is not a book. However, if you have never read a play before, this one is a great way to get started. It's formatted very easy for younger, inexperienced eyes to read. As a play lover myself, I was very pleased with how this book was done.
The book focuses on Albus Severus Potter and his new friend, Scorpius Malfoy. Yes, Draco's son, who is rumored to be the son of Voldemort from the past, thanks to a Time-Turner. I like Albus quite a bit, he's a character who is much easier to relate to compared with Harry. And Scorpius is a sassy, smart, nice kid. He's what Draco could have been had Draco not had Lucius as a father. Scorpius is my new favorite HP character after Severus Snape. I do not like Rose Granger-Weasley very much, but I think if this were to go on (more books, hinthint), I'd like her more.
Nearly every character from HP makes an appearance somehow, and all are mentioned except for Dobby for some reason. What surprised me most about this book was how much of it had to do with Cedric Diggory. I liked Cedric, he and Tonks were the only Hufflepuffs I liked in the series, and this story made you see him in an entirely different light.
The story is about time, about opportunity, about parent-child relationships (in a very weird way: there is MUCH more than just Harry and Albus, MUCH more).
I want to give a spoiler SO BADLY. All I can say is act three, scene nine made me have to put the book down and bawl my eyes out. It was utter perfection in every way. It was about the true meaning of heroism and sacrifice; the lasting effects that love leaves on the soul, and about how you can't judge a book by its cover (there is a line from one character that is along the lines of "amazing what comes from inside"). It's touching, and featured another thing I had been hoping would happen and so far have only seen in fanfiction.
Rowling and her two partners created a beautiful, moving, meaningful play about life, death, love, and acceptance. I loved it.

5/5--f**king brilliant!

Buy Harry Potter And The Cursed Child wherever books are sold, and go see the play in London!

Monday, August 1, 2016

RELEASE DAY BLITZ: "Life Sentence" by Lily Luchesi



BRAND NEW RELEASE!
Title: Life Sentence (Paranormal Detectives Book Three)
Author: Lily Luchesi
Genre: Horror, paranormal, mystery
BlurbShe can fight evil, but can she fight the darkness in her own blood?
After the disastrous events with Miranda have subsided, Danny and Angelica have to adjust to a new kind of life at the Paranormal Investigative Division.
Fiona is still on the loose, and she has all of Hell on her side. Danny begins to enhance his psychic abilities with the help of a soul just like his. Angelica is caught between a rock and a very dark place.
Can their love survive these new trials, or will the past tear them apart?


Books one and two are also on sale today only (August 2nd). Click the photograph below to catch up on the series for just $1!


Watch the trailer for Life Sentence, featuring the song "Together" by Matt Lande (used with permission).


EXCERPT from Life Sentence:

“Well, well, little vamplet,” the wolf growled, “it is a true pleasure to see you in person. I see you got my note.”
“Ever hear of email?” Angelica asked. Danny felt the tension in her body flowing in waves. She was just barely restraining herself from launching at the wolf, getting revenge for her fallen employee. “You of know me, eh? Well, then you know what I’m capable of.”
“Oh, I do,” it growled deeply, as if pleased. “And I want to challenge you.”
“Challenge me?” Angelica asked. “To what?”
“A fight. Just us, to see who can win in an old-fashioned, one-on-one brawl.”
“It’s been a while since I was challenged hand-to-hand. You sure you’re up for it?”
Angelica’s smirk was a little alarming. Danny saw Brighton open his mouth to speak, but thought better of it at the look on her face. Angelica was about to go one-on-one with a cursed shifter. Any idiot could tell you that that was a bad idea, even for a full-blooded vampire.
“Can you promise me that your male harem back there won’t get involved? Because if they do, this whole thing is off the table,” the wolf said.
Angelica chuckled. “They know better than to interfere.”
Brighton grabbed Danny’s sleeve. “Are you really going to let her do this?”
“Do you think I can stop her? Or even help her? You know her, Brighton. She’ll incapacitate me in a second before going about the fight as if I never interrupted,” Danny said. “Stubborn as a mule.”
“I can hear you,” she said as she began to remove her black gloves. Her eyes never left the wolf in front of her. “Tell me, why do this? Your orders are to kill me, not challenge me.”
The wolf growled before it answered. “I heard what you did to the ones who came before me. They underestimated you. The only way for me to get a real, fair fight is to challenge you head-on. Why do you think I let that crazy witch turn me in the first place? For the power. I love a challenge. You, Angelica Cross, are a challenge.”
Angelica turned around and placed her two guns on the ground, as promised. She had not brought her sword in her haste to catch the wolf. “Then let’s go--monster to monster.”
The shifter scoffed. “At least I’m not still part human.”
Angelica’s eyes darkened, turning blood red. Her claws started to extend, something that had never happened when she was a vamplet. Finally, Danny watched as her jaw became distended, and her fangs released. These were not the two "Dracula" fangs she had had before: these were the long needle fangs every vampire had. Each tooth became thin and sharp, while the canines on the top and bottom reaching over two inches in length.
“See, that’s the thing: neither am I.”






About Lily:

Lily Luchesi is a young author/poet born in Chicago, Illinois, now residing in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle by the time she was twelve, and, as her family has always been what they now call "Gothic", she doesn't believe she shall ever change. She is also a hopeless romantic and avid music-love who will always associate vampires with love, blood, and rock and roll.
Her interest in poetry came around the same time as when she was given a book of Edgar Allan Poe's complete work. She then realized that she had been writing her own poetry since she could hold a pen, and just had not known the correct terms. She finished her first manuscript at the age of fourteen, and was first published at twenty-one.
Her debut novel, Stake-Out (Paranormal Detectives Series Book One), was published by Vamptasy Publishing on May 19th, 2015. Book two, Miranda's Rights, was released on January 8th, 2016. Book three, Life Sentence, will be released on August 2nd, 2016 by Vamptasy Publishing, and book four (title TBA) was also just accepted by the publisher and will be released in January 2017.
She has a short story, "Undead Ever After" in the CHBB Publishing anthology Love Sucks (released on June 13th, 2015). Her first erotic short story, "Have No Fears", was published in the Hot Ink Press anthology Naughty Bedtime Stories: In Three Words on October 10th, 2015. She will also have a short erotic horror story, "The Devil's Dozen", in the upcoming Hot Ink Press anthology Death, Love, Lust, which was released on February 4th, 2016. Her horror short "Too Young To Kill" was released in the CHBB Publishing anthology Lurking In The Shadows on June 28th, 2016.

Links: