Tuesday, January 16, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Wait, You Did What?" by T.A. Moorman


Wait, You Did What? by T. A. Moorman
Published 1/16/18 by After Glows Publishing
Contemporary/Romantic Comedy

Synopsis:

Justine had the job of her dreams, the best parents in the world, and a brother she more than just tolerated. The one thing she gave up on was finding love. She didn't need that to be happy, right? In helping her brother pull off his own last-minute wedding, Justine may be in for a surprise of her own, and find love had been right there in her face the entire time.

Join in on Justine's adventure of #love#laughter, and #limousines#PreOrder your copy today.




Excerpt:

Pops was a six foot three inch tall bear of a white man with white hair cut to the quick, with a small beard and mustache that made his handsome face look menacing, when in truth he was one of the nicest men you’d ever meet. Mom was just a touch over five feet, a fierce, robust black woman with more than a touch of Native American. She had long dark brown hair and the face of an angel, though she could be mean as a damn grizzly if you got on her wrong side. She was also more than a touch racist: she doesn’t count Pops as white. Yes, I know how idiotic that sounds. But since he grew up in the heart of Detroit and played pro basketball for a while until an accident took out his knee, Mom said that made him black enough for her. Did I mention they were a touch insane?
“Well, don’t just stand there like some statues. Your mom made some brunch and has it all set up nice in the dining room,” Pops said as he ushered us in, “And she wouldn’t let me touch a damned thing ’til y’all got here and I’m half starved.”
“You got enough meat on those bones to afford to miss a meal or two,” Was Mom’s snappy reply to that comment.
“Estelle, you wound me with your words. Now, I’m going to need some extra affection from you or I’ll start believing you just don’t love me like you used to.”
“I’ll give you some extra affection alright, a whack upside the back of your head if you touch that food before we say grace.”
Rolling my eyes at that, I sat down. I couldn’t help but smile at how much the two of them loved one another, as we bowed our heads to say grace. They almost gave me hope that I could find that type of love too. Almost.
Mom cleared her throat before saying, “There’s some grown up juice mixed in with the orange juice, since I’m more than sure we gonna need it. Nothing ever bodes well when Max calls and says he wants to discuss something with us.”
“Ma, come on, maybe I just wanted to spend some time with my family.”
“Boy, do I look like I was born yesterday to you? If so, them damn contacts ain’t worth a damned dime that you paid for ‘em, and you need to go get a refund.”
I just about choked on my juice listening to the two of them go back and forth. I don’t think Pops even heard a mumbling word over his own chewing. I barely recall seeing the man even fix his plate, but when I looked over at him he was already halfway done and eyeballing seconds.
I had a coughing fit so bad Pops was about to get up and beat me on the back until I choked out an, “I’m okay,” when I heard Max telling Mom, “Maybe I wanna just discuss going on a family vacation. We haven’t done that in a while now.” I downed another glass of ‘grown up juice’ to help soothe my throat, and get ready for the big reveal.
“Maybe if you actually ate some food to go with all that juice you keep downing you wouldn’t be over there having spasms,” Pops suggested to me between mouthfuls.
Only thing I could say to that was, “I am. I’m just a bit more thirsty than I am hungry.” You would be too if you knew just what kind of vacation your son was talking about. As if he was reading my thoughts, Max cut his eyes at me.
“Quit eyeballing your sister, and tell us some more about this vacation idea of yours.” Poor Mom, she truly sounded excited about it.
“Yes, Max, please enlighten us with more details about this vacation plan of yours,” I said. “I am just so intrigued.”
“Justine, I hate you.”
“Love you too bro.” I even blew him a kiss with that. Which made him look as though he wanted to strangle me. “Just trying to offer up some encouragement. I’m in the mood for a vacation myself and would love to hear the details.”
“You are so not helping here.” He was turning beet red. Maybe I should let up a little bit. I had barely had that thought before there was a knock at the door.
My eyes went round as saucers. “Please tell me you didn’t.”
When Mom scooted back her chair to go to the door, Max stopped her saying, “I’ll get it.”
Sure enough, when he walked back in he had Chelsea on his arm. “Mom, Pops, meet Chelsea, my fiancĂ©e.”
After about two seconds of stunned silence, Mom finally recovered enough to say, “Justine, pass me that damn juice you hogging up over there.” Then she turned to Pops saying, “Henry, please tell me your son did NOT just bring me home a white girl.”


About the Author:

When you become a Mom, you begin to put yourself last, and your combat boots begin to collect dust. Going to your child's PTA meetings in full Gothic, especially industrial, regalia is pretty much frowned upon. Especially by your own children, and your teens would die of a heart attack. But, one should not have to completely stop being themselves, uniqueness is greatness. So all of that darkness is put into words in her books, and designs in her jewelry sold in her GothicMoms DarkCharms shop.

Mother of five beautiful children, but by far more than just that. T. A. Moorman is an artist, a violinist, a seamstress, a crafter, a writer, a blogger, a reviewer, a dark confidant and a darkly dangerous, fiercely protective friend. And currently broke, so go buy something of hers. Lol.


Author Links:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, January 12, 2018

RELEASE BLITZ: "Slumber" by Christy Sloat


I am so excited that SLUMBER by Christy Sloat is available now and that I get to share the news!

If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Christy Sloat, be sure to check out all the details below.

This blitz also includes a giveaway for a finished copy of the book courtesy or Christy. and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.



About The Book:

Title: SLUMBER (Slumber Duology #1)
Author: Christy Sloat
Pub. Date: January 12, 2018
Publisher: CHBB Publishing 
Pages: 234
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: AmazonB&NTBDGoodreads

Not all princesses get their happily ever after...



They tell me I killed my boyfriend Phillip in cold blood. I stabbed him twenty one times. I’m only seventeen years old, and I am serving life in Spindle Ridge Asylum for the Criminally Insane.

I don’t remember killing him, so it’s really hard to believe I’m capable of murder. In fact I don’t remember anything before I came to Spindle Ridge, not even my boyfriend.



I can only grasp onto my realistic dreams while the madness of the asylum threatens to pull me under. I dream I’m a beautiful princess and there is an evil faerie named Maleficent who is bent on my destruction. The dreams are the closest thing I have to memories of my life, except they aren’t real.



I’m crazy. I’m not a princess.



They’re the mad illusions of an irrational teenage girl, right?



They’ve assigned me a new doctor, and she says I can trust her, and that she’ll help me see the truth of who I really am.

When she arrived she brought a new patient, Sawyer, who is everything Spindle Ridge isn’t: exciting, mysterious and beautiful. He promises he’s here to rescue me. Trusting either of them frightens me.



Could it be possible that my dreams are more than just the imaginings of a delusional girl? Could they be truth?



Excerpt:

I woke in the middle of the night hearing screams fill the air. This was not uncommon at all, but tonight I wasn’t expecting it. Normally when Adele’s meds are changed, she wakes screaming that she can’t sleep. Adele’s room is across from mine. She is roughly in her twenties and I never learned how she ended up here. I try not to talk to the other patients. I don’t know why it is, but I don’t fit in with these people. To them I’m the murderer and they tend to think less of me. That’s fine. I am what they say I am. That’s why I’m here, right?

They told me I stabbed my boyfriend, Phillip, but I don’t remember doing it. I actually don’t remember Phillip at all. No recollection of having been in a relationship either. I must have killed him or else I wouldn’t be in Spindle Ridge.

Dr. Altman says that I have to believe that I did it or we will never get anywhere. I’ll admit it’s hard to believe that these hands could stab a person twenty times. No matter how I imagined it, it is always hard to believe. 

I sat up listening hard for the screams. When they came again I noticed they were not female, they were male. The screams were deeper and reached a longer distance than Adele’s cries ever could. I wondered if the whole building could hear him.

I pulled my covers up over my neck and covered my face. I just wanted to sleep and fall back into the dream I was having. It was beautiful, and if I had my way, I would stay there forever.

Wait!

I sat up fast. Closing my eyes, I tried to remember the dream to the last second. It wasn’t the same dream as the one’s prior. This dream was different! This dream was me and a boy.

I never dreamt of anyone but my parents and the evil woman. The dream’s soft lullaby came back to me as I remembered where I was.

The smell of fresh grass came across my senses.

The sky so blue as I lay on a blanket. I rolled over and saw the face of a boy. He was everything that Spindle Ridge wasn’t; he was beautiful. He had long, shaggy, but not unruly, hair that touched his collar. When he smiled at me, he looked like a boy in love. In love with me.

“Get up you lazy sack!”

I opened my eyes and was pulled back into the now. I was forced to leave the dream behind as I was being pulled out of bed by two nurses.

About Christy: 

I am Southern California native, now living in New Jersey! How did that happen? I am married and have  two beautiful little girls who love to read just like Mommy. I have had a passion for books since I was a little girl and an imagination for just as long. I hope my books can inspire others to read and to write too.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Goodreads












Giveaway Details:
1 winner will win a finished copy of SLUMBER US Only.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, December 22, 2017

COVER REVEAL: "The Crossing" by E.H. James




★★•*´´*•★★ COVER REVEAL ★★•*´´*•★★


THE CROSSING



A paranormal novella
by E. H. James

 Coming January 5, 2018


Blurb

Unaware of the powers lurking within her, Caitlin opens a door between worlds, allowing a fallen angel to pass through the veil of darkness into the light.
Attaching himself to Caitlin, he feeds off her fear to build his strength, intending to kill her, in order to prevent the door through which he can be forced back into the darkness from opening.
Aware of Malfeil’s return, Ezriel, the angel who cast him down by divine order, must be the one to send him back into the darkness. He appears to Caitlin, calling upon her to ask her to help him. But between his visits—causing her to have missing time—and Malfeil doing whatever he can to frighten her, Caitlin begins to question her sanity.
Realizing what she must do, there’s just one problem. An emergency room doctor, with a penchant for house calls, believes her unstable and is seeking to have her institutionalized.
Now she must evade the doctor while seeking out Ezriel…and all before Malfeil kills her.
* * *
Author Bio

E. H. James has always been fascinated by the unexplained. Wanting to delve deeper into the unknown, James has read and researched in the areas of parapsychology and metaphysics, for the past 40 years. 

Taking those first hand experiences, involving the unexplained, James has woven the real and imaginary together into stories of the strange and bizarre.

James' stories range from the paranormal and horror, to fantasy and science fiction, from short stories and novellas, to 100K+ novels.  

Author Links

Amazon Author Page

Website

Goodreads Author Page

Twitter
@EHJames1

Facebook Profile

Facebook Page


Tuesday, December 5, 2017

RELEASE DAY BLITZ: "Never Again" by Lily Luchesi







In this standalone spin-off of the Paranormal Detectives Series, we discover the true horrors during Hitler's reign.

In World War Two, not all monsters were human.
Male siren Sean Wireman was ostracized from his small village in Israel in the sixteenth century, forced to wander the world until he settled in America in the 1920's. Since he doesn't age like a normal person, he was fit to fight in World War Two, to defend the heritage he spent his whole life running from.
Seventy years later, after he has lived a whole other life since Hitler was defeated, from attending law school to becoming a bona fide rock star, the monsters the Nazis released upon the Jews in concentration camps have returned, and he is the only one who can destroy them.
But can he save his people once again, or will this fight take a deadly toll?









EXCERPT:


I was freezing. As in limbs numb cold. I woke up in a bed, and dread filled me at the sight around me. I was back in Theresienstadt, and all around me were the frozen corpses of the other inmates. Ice and frost formed on their eyeballs and eyelashes. Their hair was frozen stiff, what they had of it, anyway. Lips blue, skin white as the snow the fell outside.
I got up, and had nowhere to walk. Unless I tread in my bare feet over frozen cadavers, I was stuck, trapped there to freeze to death. Taking a breath that burned my lungs from the cold, I took a step, feeling unmoving, frozen stiff limbs beneath my skin. Brittle, frozen bones cracked under my weight and I felt sicker than ever when I reached the end of the room.
The boy, the one I had given my coat to, was standing in the doorway, still wearing my coat. He was dead, but moving nonetheless. His sightless, frozen eyes stared at me and through me. “You didn’t try hard enough to save me,” he said, his voice naught but a whisper.
Fear made me move, and I shoved the ice-covered zombie aside, only to watch his body shatter like glass when it hit the floor. Blood exploded everywhere from the force of impact, so warm it began to melt the ice that was once a poor little Jewish boy, too young to even shave yet.
I let out a cry and ran out the door, not wanting to see anymore. Outside the door was the old man who had had his skull cracked in by the Nazi that night of the inspection. He was also made of ice, but his head was steadily pumping blood, slowly melting his cold exterior.
“You just watched me die,” he said, his voice sounding just like the boy’s.
“There was nothing I could do!” I protested.
The man lunged at me, but he was too slow and he slammed himself into the wall after I moved out of the way. I didn’t stick around to see if he was still moving or not. I needed to find a way out.
Without any more interruptions, I reached the main hall and opened the door to escape. Standing in the way was my old friend Jakob Edelstein. He was emaciated, but not frozen. His bare arm showed the tattoo that was unique to Auschwitz. His eyes were sunken and blackened, his teeth had mostly fallen out. Oh yes, and one side of his head was blown in, just a large crater like a cracked three-minute egg. Instead of yolk and butter and salt leaking from the crater, though, there was splattered gray matter and blood. Off to one side were three people I didn’t know, but I still knew who they were: Jakob’s wife, mother, and son. All three had identical holes in their heads.
“You escaped, Sean. I didn’t,” Jakob said, his voice low and dark, nothing like the man I knew. “Why did you deserve to live and not me?”
“I didn’t!” I said, tears coming to my eyes. “I didn’t deserve it, but I’m not the one who gets to choose who lives and who dies! Don’t you think I would have traded my life for yours in a second if I could have?”
“Not good enough!” Jakob lunged for me, and I grappled with him. He was stronger than our frozen brethren inside the camp walls. I pushed him down to the ground and watched in mute horror as his head shattered like porcelain, splattering his brains all over the pure white snow.





Lily Luchesi is the award-winning author of the bestselling Paranormal Detectives Series, published by Vamptasy Publishing. She also has short stories included in multiple bestselling anthologies, and a successful dark erotica retelling of Dracula. She is also the editor and curator of the bestselling Damsels of Distress anthology, which puts emphasis on strong female characters in horror and paranormal fiction.
She was born in Chicago, Illinois, and now resides in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle. She is also an out member of the LGBT+ community. When she's not writing, she's going to rock concerts, getting tattooed, watching the CW, or reading manga. And drinking copious amounts of coffee.

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Cyber Monday SALE from Darren Dash!

It's Cyber Monday, and I decided at almost the very last minute to do a Cyber Monday sale. Up for grabs is the ebook of my most recent Darren Dash release, An Other Place, a sci-fi novel like no other, that (much to my surprise, because it's a WEIRD little number!) has had lots of great critical reviews and found an ever-growing and enthusiastic fan base. It's a strange, disturbing, darkly funny story about a guy who winds up in a nightmarish, fantastical city, where the rules of our world are turned on their head. Definitely NOT for children!

For 48 hours only, from 00.00am Monday to 11.00pm on Tuesday (PST in the States, GMT in the UK), the ebook of An Other Place will be on sale on Amazon USA for just $0.99 (a third of its normal price), and Amazon UK for just £0.99 (half its normal price). This is the first time I've offered this book at a reduced price, and I don't do sales like this very often, so act quick if you want to nab a bargain! Here are the buying links.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

COVER REVEAL: "Never Again" by Lily Luchesi




Never Again
(A Paranormal Detectives Novel)
Coming December 5th, 2017
Cover design by Rue Volley using stock art from Bigstock

In World War Two, not all monsters were human.
Male siren Sean Wireman was ostracized from his small village in Israel in the sixteenth century, forced to wander the world until he settled in America in the 1920's. Since he doesn't age like a normal person, he was fit to fight in World War Two, to defend the heritage he spent his whole life running from.
Seventy years later, after he has lived a whole other life since Hitler was defeated, from attending law school to becoming a bona fide rock star. In 2017, the monsters the Nazis released upon the Jews in concentration camps have returned, and he is the only one who can destroy them.
But can he save his people once again, or will this fight take a deadly toll?


EXCERPT:

I have no idea how long I stood there after I screamed, but I imagine it wasn’t long before I could hear voices coming closer and closer to where I knelt by the corpse. Panic began to set in then. It was one thing to have sex out of wedlock. It was safe to assume that it was an entirely different kettle of fish to have murdered your partner whilst you were having premarital sex! Sure, I hadn’t meant to do it, but who the Hell would have believed me? I wouldn’t have, had I been asked to believe something so outlandish.
What was I to do? Where was I to go? We were surrounded by barren land beyond our farm. If I were to run, I would be overtaken immediately. And running would make me look guilty. Even guiltier than sitting here beside a fresh cadaver. Of course, if I dressed, perhaps they’d think it was someone else and I had simply found her body here. It was worth a shot, and teenage me didn’t think that someone had seen me leave the house after her.
Teenage me was an idiot and could go fuck himself, if you ask my opinion.
I dressed, clothes were simpler then and I had no need of zippers and complex belts and shoes. We hadn’t progressed from sandals at that point. Despite my quick thinking, I was still distraught, and as soon as I heard the voices even closer I let out the anguished cry that had been sitting, painfully, in my breast. It was followed by a plea for help.
Now that I think about it, maybe I am evil. To have such deep artifice at such a young age and during such a traumatic moment, maybe Angelica should have killed me when she had the chance.
Anyway…
The doors to the barn were wrenched open and I could see everyone entering, silhouetted by their torches. My dad and her dad were leading them all. No women were present. Which was good, because if things went south, I wouldn’t have wanted my mother to see me like that.
“Dad! Dad, help!” I called. “It’s Gail, something happened…” My panic and confusion didn’t need to be faked: I had no idea what had happened. And I was terrified.
They came closer, and the din was suddenly silenced as they took one look at Gail, laying there with blood and little else on her body. I wished I had covered her: it was shameful to let her body be seen this way, but if I had they would have known right away that I was the culprit. Artifice was not a strong point for anyone back in those days, but I seemed to have a knack for it anyway.
The pure silence lasted for only a moment before there was a tortured scream. It came from David, Gail’s father. Thankfully not dropping his torch, he lunged forward only to be held back by my father.
“Sean, what happened?” my father asked me.
“I don’t know. I—I saw her leave earlier and when I went outside to get a drink I saw she wasn’t around but our barn doors were open so I went to close them and I found her…” I swallowed a large gulp of air, having been talking too fast to breathe while still crying.
“Liar!” David cried. “It was you! It had to be you! Everyone else was inside!”
“No matter who it was...what happened to her?” my father asked, looking at her emaciated corpse. “That’s not normal.”
No, it’s not, I thought, panicking. It wasn’t normal, so what the good fuck was I?
“Monster!” David hissed. “What did you do to my daughter?”
I couldn’t answer even if I did want to, because I knew as little as he did. I was sick inside, and frightened of myself. I wondered if I should go to a rabbi myself, get diagnosed. Was it a demon? Did I need to be purged? Or was I just...a monster?

Trailer:




Lily Luchesi is the award-winning author of the bestselling Paranormal Detectives Series, published by Vamptasy Publishing. She also has short stories included in multiple bestselling anthologies, and a successful dark erotica retelling of Dracula. She also edited and curated the bestselling horror anthology Damsels of Distress, which focused on strong female characters within the genre.
She was born in Chicago, Illinois, and now resides in Los Angeles, California. Ever since she was a toddler her mother noticed her tendency for being interested in all things "dark". At two she became infatuated with vampires and ghosts, and that infatuation turned into a lifestyle. She is also an out member of the LGBT+ community. When she's not writing, she's going to rock concerts, getting tattooed, watching the CW, or reading manga. And drinking copious amounts of coffee.